- Academic Search Complete
Large general database of articles from scholarly journals, newspapers and magazines covering a wide range of topics.
Encompasses all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines including plant and animal sciences, forestry, entomology, soil and water resources, agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, agricultural products, alternative farming practices, and food and nutrition.
- AGRIS: International Information System for the Agricultural Sciences and Technology
AGRIS is a global public domain Database with >4 million structured bibliographical records on agricultural science and technology. No 'Find It!' link is provided. Use CONSORT, the Journal Finder and ILLiad to access materials.
- Alt HealthWatch
1990s to present
Covers complimentary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness by providing access to full text articles from more than 170 peer-reviewed and professional journals and magazines, reports, proceedings, association and consumer newsletters, pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts.
- Annual Reviews
Distinguished researchers and editors critically review and synthesize the most significant research literature in subdisciplines of the biological, medical, physical, and social sciences.
- BioMed Central
All original research articles published by BioMed Central are made freely and permanently accessible online immediately upon publication. BioMed Central views open access to research as essential in order to ensure the rapid and efficient communication of research findings.
- BIOSIS Previews
1969 - Present
Biological Abstracts, a leading source of life sciences information, provides abstracts and bibliographic references to worldwide biological and medical literature. Biological Abstracts contains references to journal items focusing on vital biological and medical research findings, pharmacological studies, and discoveries of new organisms.
- Bird Sounds (Borror Laboratory of Bioacoustics)
Database from Borror Laboratory of Bioacoustics at Ohio State University with large collection of animal sounds. For more information on the Borror Lab, see http://blb.biosci.ohio-state.edu/.
Can’t figure out a journal title from its abbreviation? Use CASSI to determine the FULL TITLE of a journal – which you can then look up in Wooster’s Journal Finder or CONSORT.
- CINAHL Plus
1982 to present
Indexes more than one thousand journals in nursing, covering nursing, physical therapy, occupational therapy, emergency services, consumer health, alternative therapies, and health sciences librarianship.
- Environment Complete
Covers agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, geography, waste management, law, policy, social impacts, planning and more.
- Faculty of 1000 - Biology
Reviews the most interesting papers published in the biological sciences, based on the recommendations of a faculty of well over 1000 selected leading researchers.
- Health Source: Consumer Edition
1984 to present
This database provides access to more than 130 full text, consumer health magazines. It also includes searchable full text for more than 4,500 Clinical Reference Systems reports (in English and Spanish) and the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which provides access to 1,300 drug monograph entries. Health Source: Consumer Edition covers topics such as AIDS, cancer, diabetes, drugs and alcohol, ageing, fitness, nutrition and dietetics.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
1984 to present
This database provides access to nearly 550 scholarly full text journals, including nearly 450 peer-reviewed journals focusing on many medical disciplines, as well as abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong. In addition, this database includes the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs.
1966 - present
All aspects of biomedicine and allied health fields plus other biological, physical and social sciences as they relate to health and medicine.
PubMed contains all MEDLINE content - plus in-process citations and citations from related disciplines.
- NCBI Entrez Databases
NCBI provides access to molecular databases such as GenBank with sequencing, structural, and taxonomic data. Also available are literature databases such as PubMed, PubMed Central, and OMIM (Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man).
Citations from Medline, pre-publications and related biomedical articles from the 1950s on.
Large full-text database - covering journals published by Elsevier. Use in concert with other resources.
Provides access to Chemical Abstracts, including the CAplus database of chemical literature and patents, CASREACT, and the Registry database.
- SciFinder - REGISTRATION
Click on the above link for more information and instructions on registering (current Wooster faculty, staff and students ONLY).
Scopus is an abstract and citation database containing both peer-reviewed research literature and quality web sources. With over 18,000 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers, Scopus offers researchers resources to support their research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and, more recently, also in the arts and humanities.
- Web of Science (ISI)
Broad scientific database. Includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index which can be searched together or separately.