Skip to main content

Medicine and Health: Websites

Start here if you are looking for resources on medicine, pre-med, nutrition, and more

Professional Organizations

 

Websites

The following is a list of a few of the thousands of web sites on topics related to medicine and health.

Portals and Gateways

  • Health.gov
    Health.gov is a portal to the Web sites of a number of multi-agency health initiatives and activities of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and other Federal departments and agencies. The site is coordinated by the Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, which is an office of the Department of Health and Human Services.
  • Martindale Health Science Guide
    The Martindale Health Science guide includes medical cases and grand rounds, teaching files, courses and textbooks, tutorials, journals, databases, atlases and image databases, and movies in virtual medical centers in the fields of anatomy and histology, brain and neuroanatomy, cardiology, pathology and virology, bioscience, chemistry, pharmacy, nutrition and more.

Reference Sources

  • WebMD                                                                                                                                                                                          WebMD offers credible and in-depth medical news, features, reference material, and online community programs. We are proud that others in the fields of media and health have recognized our efforts over the years.
  • A.D.A.M. Health Illustrated Medical Encyclopedia
    The A.D.A.M. Health Illustrated Encyclopedia includes more than 4,000 articles about diseases, tests, symptoms, injuries, and surgeries. It also contains an extensive library of medical photographs and illustrations.
  • CIDRAP: Center for Infectious Disease Research and Policy
    CIDRAP’s mission is “to prevent illness and death from infectious diseases through epidemiologic research and the rapid translation of scientific information into real-world practical applications and solutions.” Accessible through the University of Minnesota’s Academic Health Center, this site provides information on the topics of influenza, bioterrorism, biosecurity, food safety and other topics.
  • Drugs@FDA
    This site from the Center for Drug Evaluation and Research, a division of the United States Food and Drug Administration, is a database of drugs approved by the FDA. The database is searchable by drug name, active ingredient or application number.
  • Genetics Home Reference
    This site, sponsored by the National Library of Medicine, provides consumer-friendly information about the effects of genetic variations on human health. Information in the site is organized by genetic conditions, specific genes and specific chromosomes. A handbook and glossary are provided, as well as links to other web sites.
  • HIV InSite Knowledge Base
    This comprehensive, on-line textbook of HIV disease from the University of California San Francisco and San Francisco General Hospital organizes and makes accessible the current state of learning regarding HIV/AIDS. Topics covered include the epidemiology, natural science, clinical manifestations, diagnosis and clinical management, and transmission and prevention of HIV, as well as infections and malignancies associated with HIV. In addition, it includes information about HIV policy.
  • LUMEN: Structure of the Human Body
    The publicly accessible portion of the Loyola University Medical Education Network (LUMEN) consists of a series of tutorials that provide resources for the study of human anatomy.
  • MEDLINEplus Health Information
    This site, sponsored by the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health, provides authoritative, up to date health information on over 600 diseases and conditions. There are also lists of hospitals and physicians, a medical encyclopedia and a medical dictionary, health information in Spanish, extensive information on prescription and nonprescription drugs, health information from the media, and links to thousands of clinical trials. The site is updated daily.
  • Merck and the Merck Manuals
    The Merck manuals are a series of healthcare books for medical professionals and consumers. As a service to the community, the content of the manuals is now available in enhanced online versions as part of The Merck Manuals Online Medical Library.
  • Merriam-Webster Medical Dictionary
    This online dictionary provides spelling, pronounciation and definitions of medical terms, as well as color illustrations.

Government Departments and Agencies

  • Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
    The CDC is responsible for “developing and applying disease prevention and control, environmental health, and health promotion and education activities designed to improve the health of the people of the United States.” The site provides access to health and safety information, to agency publications, and to health data and statistics.
  • Food and Drug Administration
    The US Food and Drug Administration regulates food, drugs, medical devices, biologics, animal feed and drugs, cosmetics and radiation-emitting products. The web site provides access to a wealth of information in all of the areas regulated by FDA.
  • National Center for Health Statistics
    The National Center for Health Statistics collects data from birth and death records, medical records, interview surveys, and through direct physical exams and laboratory testing. The compiled data help to identify and address health problems. This site provides access to much of the data gathered by NCHS.
  • National Institutes of Health
    The mission of the NIH is the “pursuit of fundamental knowledge about the nature and behavior of living systems and the application of that knowledge to extend healthy life and reduce the burdens of illness and disability.” The various institutes and divisions of NIH conduct and support research: “in the causes, diagnosis, prevention, and cure of human diseases; in the processes of human growth and development; in the biological effects of environmental contaminants; in the understanding of mental, addictive and physical disorders; in directing programs for the collection, dissemination, and exchange of information in medicine and health, including the development and support of medical libraries and the training of medical librarians and other health information specialists.”
  • Wayne County (Ohio) Combined General Health District
    The Wayne County Combined General Health District provides community services and programs to meet the public health needs of the citizens of Wayne County, including administrative support services, environmental health services and patient care services. The site provides access to information in all of these service areas as well as relevant laws and regulations, product recalls, and external links.
  • World Health Organization
    This site, sponsored by the World Health Organization of the United Nations, provides access to international health information grouped by countries, heath topics, publications, research tools and WHO sites.