Skip to main content

Mathematical Science: Recommended Websites

Just a Few of the Many Good Websites Available

Gateways

Math Forum

  The internet mathematics library from Drexel.  This is a great place to find more website and search by subject.

einet Mathematics Portal

  This portal takes you to many different types of mathematics sites.  It is easy to search for specific subjects, topics, and type of resource.

Catalogue of Mathematics Internet Resources
From BUBL LINK / 5:15, this web site is a catalogue of selected Internet resources covering all academic subject areas. All items are selected, evaluated, cataloged and described. The index to resources in each subject area are in alphabetical order. Listings under each subject heading include the title (linked to the site), a description and the author or sponsor of the site.
MathGuide
“The MathGuide is an Internet-based subject gateway to scholarly relevant information in mathematics, located at the Lower Saxony State and University Library, Göttingen (Germany). Resources are described and evaluated with a set of Dublin Core metadata.” Resources can be browsed by subject or source type. The search engine has both simple and advanced options.
Mathematics WWW Virtual Library
This virtual library of mathematics-related resources is maintained by the Department of Mathematics at Florida State University. It provides access to bibliographies, general resources, online books, resources on science and math, and much more.

Reference Sources

Dictionary of Algorithms and Data Structures
This is a dictionary of algorithms, algorithmic techniques, data structures, archetypical problems and related definitions. Entries are listed by area (e.g., combinatorics, cryptography and compression, graphs, etc.) and by type (e.g., classic problems, algorithms, data structures, etc.), and some have links to implementation and further information. The site was created by Paul Black of the National Institute of Standards and Technology, and is hosted by NIST.
Math2.org (Formerly “Dave’s Math Tables”)
This site provides a collection of tables in general mathematics, algebra, geometry, trigonometry and statistics.
MathWorld
This electronic encyclopedia of mathematics contains interactive elements such as animated graphics and hyperlinked terms which link to definitions. It contains references at the end of each description, many of which link to related web sites or to Amazon.com records for cited books. This site is hosted and sponsored by Wolfram Research, Inc., the creators of Mathematica.
Martindale’s Reference Desk: Calculators On-Line Center: Mathematics
This site contains a collection of math calculators ranging from the very simple to complex. It is hosted by the University of California, Irvine Science Library.
Mathematical Atlas: A Gateway to Modern Mathematics
“This is a collection of short articles designed to provide an introduction to the areas of modern mathematics and pointers to further information, as well as answers to some common (or not!) questions. The material is arranged in a hierarchy of disciplines, each with its own index page.” The site was created by Dave Rusin, associate professor of mathematics at Northern Illinois University. Navigation options include browsing from a list of subject headings, searching by keyword, clicking within the “MathMap” or taking a tour of the subfields of mathematics.
The On-Line Encyclopedia of Integer Sequences
This searchable database contains more than 83,000 number sequences. Typical entries include an ID number, the beginning sequence, sequence name or description, relevant literature, references, formulas or generating functions, and programming in Maple and Mathematica.
The Wolfram Functions Site
This resource is a compilation of elementary and special functions that are significant in mathematics, natural sciences and engineering.

Preprint and e-Print Servers

Directory of Mathematics Preprint and e-Print Servers
Maintained by the American Mathematical Society, this directory provides access to e-print and preprint servers worldwide.
ArXiv.org e-Print Archive
ArXiv is an e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science and computer science. ArXiv is owned, operated and funded by Cornell University. ArXiv is also partially funded by the National Science Foundation.

Biographical Sources

Indexes of Biographies
This site indexes more than 1500 biographies of mathematicians from ancient times to the present. The biographies, which are one to two pages in length, were written by two professors in the School of Mathematics and Statistics at the University of St. Andrews. Entries contain references, links to other information and sometimes photographs of subjects.
Women Mathematicians
This site, created and maintained by students of mathematics at Agnes Scott College, contains more that 100 biographies of famous women mathematicians. Entries are listed alphabetically or chronologically and include references to further information and a portrait of the subject.