Political Science: Select Internet Resources

International Sources

Africabib.org

Reference to many African-related journals.

 

Canadian Government Information

Collection of links including Canadian government, legislative, federal news release, and federal library information.

 

African Studies Internet Resources

Columbia University Libraries. Compilation of bibliographic resources and research materials available on the global network.

 

Europa

(The European Union On-line): Up-to-date coverage of EU affairs and essential information on European integration.

 

European Union in the US

Basic Information, News, Country Profiles, and EU-USRelations.

 

Official Documents (Stationery Office-UK)

Official publisher of most British government publications.

 

Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE)

News, information and documents on this regional security organization.

 

Political Database of the Americas (Latin America)

 

Portals to the World (U.S. Library of Congress)

Selective links providing authoritative in-depth information about the nations and other areas of the world.

 

UK Legislation

Acts of Parliament, Statutory Instruments, and anything else not covered by the UK's Stationery Office.

 

United Nations Documentation-Research Guide

Overview of UN reports, resolutions, meeting notes, press releases, etc.

 

United Nations Population Information Network (POPIN)

Comprehensive international, regional, and national demographic data on population. Also includes information on conferences.

 

University of Minnesota Human Rights Library

(Also available in Arabic, Español, Français, and Russkiy)

 

WomenWatch

The UN Internet Gateway on the Advancement and Empowerment of Women: UN publications, country reports, statistics, and news on global women's issues.

U.S. Constitution and Other Documents

A Century of Lawmaking For a New Nation

Congressional Documents between 1774-1873.

 

The Constitution of the United States of America

Text of the Constitution, important Supreme Court decisions, and the creation of the Constitution.

 

The National Security Archive (George Washington University)

Archive of Declassified US Documents and Information on International Affairs.

 

World Government Documents Archive: Declassified Documents Reference System:US:

Primary source materials covering events after WW II through the 1970s, including the Cold War, Vietnam War, Cuban missile crisis, and the Civil Rights Movement.

 

Voting and Elections

Campaigns and Elections

Information on US politics and links to US govt. sites.

 

The Center for Voting and Democracy

The site concentrates on proportional representation but covers other issues such as instant runoff voting, choice voting, cumulative voting, limited voting, and more.

 

Elections around the World

Information on national and foreign elections since 1990.

 

Federal Election Commission

Provides campaign finance law, how to research public records, financial statistics and databases, election process, and voting results.

 

National Election Studies (NES)

Provides data collected by NES and allows studies to be downloaded.

 

Project Vote-Smart

Candidate and campaign info about the legislatures, Congress, and the President.

 

U.S. Electoral College

Explains the electoral college, and includes electoral statistics and links to the Federal Register, and the National Archives and Records Administration.

Public Opinion

General Social Survey (GSS)

 

Pew Research Center

 

PollingReport.com

 

Miscellaneous

Assessing the New Federalism

Center for the American Woman and Politics: Links to information on Womens' Studies, Center publications, and Rutgers' Political Science department.
Center on Budget and Policy Priorities: Nonpartisan research organization that researches many areas such as federal budget priorities, federal tax policies, federal welfare policy, health policy, state fiscal policy, low income housing, social security and more.

 

Electronic Policy Network

 

Freedom Forum

National and international news about freedom and basic rights.

 

Odum Institute for Research in Social Science Data Archive

 

National Network of State Polls (NNSP)

Largest collection of state-level survey data.

 

opensecrets.org

Information on Monetary Influence in U.S. Politics and Elections.

 

Political Information.com

Guide and search engine to 5000+ political and public policy web sites.

 

Public Agenda Online

The Inside Source for Public Opinion and Analysis: Public opinion research and citizen education about major issues. Richard Kimber's political science resources: Emphasizes UK politics but also includes other political science links.

 

State and Local Governments

Provides links to all states, even some counties and city governments; national organizations, multi-state sites, federal resources.

 

The Torture Database

 

U. S. Census Bureau

High quality user-friendly page. Some features of interest include customized maps and current population projections.

United Nations

Global Policy Forum

Global Policy Forum (GPF), monitors global policy making at the United Nations.