LibGuides: Africana Studies: Databases

Welcome!

Use this Guide to get started researching in Africana Studies. You may also find the Guides in English & Literature, History, Music, Religious Studies or Sociology to be helpful.

JSTOR Journals in African Studies
Archival access to electronically available journals in African Studies, usually up until the most recent three years of publication.
JSTOR Journals in African American Studies
Archival access to electronically available journals in African American Studies, usually up until the most recent three years of publication.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost)
Serves as scholarly, multidisciplinary full-text database, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Essential for researching the full breadth of Africana Studies.

America: History & Life (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts sources on the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Includes indexing for 1,700 journals published since 1910.
JSTOR (ITHAKA) This link opens in a new window
JSTOR includes scholarship published in more than 1,500 of the highest-quality academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The content represents archives of the journal titles back to volume 1 but not including the most recent 3-5 years.

Historical Abstracts (EBSCOhost)
Indexes and abstracts sources on the history of the world from 1450 to the present, excluding the United States and Canada. Includes indexing for academic historical journals in over 40 languages.
Web of Science Core Collection (Clarivate)
Indexes the multidisciplinary journal literature of the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences. The Core Collection covers over 2,900 journals across 50 social sciences disciplines.
SocIndex (EBSCOhost)
Covers sociology and its subdivisions including anthropology, criminology, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, politics, religion, educational sociology, and social psychology.

Africa Knowledge Project (Africa Resource) This link opens in a new window
Publication Dates: 2009 to present. An Africa Resource Center initiative presenting research on African and its Diaspora. Includes 6 full-text journals: African Journal of Criminology & Justice Studies, Ijele (art), JENdA (culture & women's studies), Journal on African Philosophy, ProudFlesh (culture & politics), and West Africa Review; along with databases covering African music, story, languages, and the 1967-1970 Biafran War.
Black Studies Center (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Includes the Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index to Black Periodicals, the Black Literature Index, and full-text backfiles of major black newspapers.

Ethnic Newswatch (Proquest)
Includes periodicals from ethnic and minority presses. The current collection, Ethnic NewsWatch™, covers 1990-present. The historical collection, Ethnic NewsWatch: A History™, covers 1959-1989.
Gender Studies Database (EBSCOhost)
Combines Women’s Studies International and Men’s Studies databases. Includes the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship from 1972 to the present.

Appointment requests can be made anytime using the Research Consultation Form or by emailing mfoster@wooster.edu.