This is the "Databases" page of the "Chemistry" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Chemistry  

Last Updated: Feb 5, 2014 URL: http://libguides.wooster.edu/chemistry Print Guide RSS Updates

Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 

Useful Links

  • Ask A Librarian
    Need help fast? Click here to chat with the Research Help Desk - or to contact a library staff member.
  • Journal Finder
    Find Wooster's print and electronic journals with this simple search.
  • Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad)
    Need an article we don't own? Request through ILL! Registration required.
  • Citing Sources
    Provides links to resources about citing sources.

Finding journals in the library

Once you have a citation:

Follow the HTML or PDF link to the article full text in the database - then read, download, or print OR

Use the FIND IT button found in many of the databases AND/OR

Use the Ejournal/Journal link on the libraries home page and search by the name of the journal or magazine AND

If the journal is not available in print on online at Wooster, the article may be requested from another library through Illiad  AND/OR

Request assistance at the Reference Desk

 

      

    All Chemistry Databases

    • BIOSIS Previews
      1969 - Present
      Biological Abstracts, a leading source of life sciences information, provides abstracts and bibliographic references to worldwide biological and medical literature. Biological Abstracts contains references to journal items focusing on vital biological and medical research findings, pharmacological studies, and discoveries of new organisms.
    • CASSI
      Can’t figure out a journal title from its abbreviation? Use CASSI to determine the FULL TITLE of a journal – which you can then look up in Wooster’s Journal Finder or CONSORT.
    • ChemSpider
      ChemSpider is a chemistry search engine that aggregates and indexes chemical structures and their associated information into a single searchable repository. Records include chemical structures, chemical names and synomyms, properties, references to orginal data sources and other data.
    • INSPEC
      Indexes journals and conference proceedings, primarily from physics, computer science, and electrical engineering. Also includes some physical chemistry (1898-present).
    • MEDLINE
      1966 - present
      All aspects of biomedicine and allied health fields plus other biological, physical and social sciences as they relate to health and medicine.

      PubMed contains all MEDLINE content - plus in-process citations and citations from related disciplines.
    • NCBI Entrez Databases
      NCBI provides access to molecular databases such as GenBank with sequencing, structural, and taxonomic data. Also available are literature databases such as PubMed, PubMed Central, and OMIM (Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man).
    • PubChem
      Provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. Organized as three linked databases within the NCBI's Entrez information retrieval system: PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound, and PubChem BioAssay. PubChem also provides a fast chemical structure similarity search tool.
    • PubMed
      Citations from Medline, pre-publications and related biomedical articles from the 1950s on.
    • SciFinder
      Provides access to Chemical Abstracts, including the CAplus database of chemical literature and patents, CASREACT, and the Registry database.
    • SciFinder - REGISTRATION
      Click on the above link for more information and instructions on registering (current Wooster faculty, staff and students ONLY).
    • Scopus
      Scopus is an abstract and citation database containing both peer-reviewed research literature and quality web sources. With over 18,000 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers, Scopus offers researchers resources to support their research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and, more recently, also in the arts and humanities.
    • Web of Science (ISI)
      1965-present
      Broad scientific database. Includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index which can be searched together or separately.

    Literature Reviews

    Reviews of the literature survey the important primary literature sources and other works on a particular topic, usually over a given time span. They provide the bibliographic information needed to find the original works, and summarize the most important points about advances in that period.

    Spectroscopic Properties of Inorganic and Organometallic Compounds
    Science Reference QD95 .S636 v.1-
    Advances in Inorganic Chemistry
    Science Reference QD151 .A45 v.31-
    Progress in Inorganic Chemistry
    Science Reference QD151 .P76 v.1-
    Organic Reactions
    Science Reference QD251 .O7 v.1-
    “The volumes of Organic Reactions are collections of chapters devoted to a single reaction, or definite phase of a reaction, of wide applicability...presented from the preparative viewpoint.” — Preface
    Organic Reaction Mechanisms
    Science Reference QD258 .O82 1965-74, 1982-
    Volumes in this series survey research on organic reaction mechanisms described in the literature for the previous year.
    Fiesers’ Reagents for Organic Synthesis
    Science Reference QD262 .F5 v.1-
    The purpose of this encyclopedia/handbook is to gather in one place information on specific chemical reagents and references to the primary literature. Many entries also include a flow sheet showing reaction conditions and yield.
    Advances in Chromatography
    Science Reference QD271 .A23 v.1-11, 16-
    Advances in Organometallic Chemistry
    Science Reference QD411 .A35 v.1-
    Advances in Protein Chemistry
    Science Reference QD431 .A3 v.1-
    Advances in Physical Organic Chemistry
    Science Reference QD476 .A4 v.1-12, 25-
    • Annual Review in Analytical Chemistry  
        
      There are many chemistry related titles in this series. Try a keyword search "Annual Review chemistry" (no quotes) and limit it to COW libraries to see a more complete list.
    • CAS Source Index (CASSI) Search Tool
      Many CAS journal title are abbreviated. This website will help you find the approved CAS abbreviation or the full title from an abbreviation.
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip