This is the "Databases" page of the "Geology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Geology  

Last Updated: Feb 12, 2014 URL: http://libguides.wooster.edu/geology Print Guide RSS Updates

Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 

Useful Links

  • Ask A Librarian
    Need help fast? Click here to chat with the Research Help Desk - or to contact a library staff member.
  • Journal Finder
    Find Wooster's print and electronic journals with this simple search.
  • Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad)
    Need an article we don't own? Request through ILL! Registration required.
  • Citing Sources
    Provides links to resources about citing sources.

Locating Full Text

Once you have a citation:

Follow the HTML or PDF link to the article full text in the database - then read, download, or print OR

Use the FIND IT button found in many of the databases AND/OR

Use the Journal Finder link on the Libraries home page and search by the name of the journal or magazine AND

If the journal is not available in print or online at Wooster, the article may be requested from another library through Illiad  AND/OR

Request assistance at the Research Help Desk

      

    All Geology Databases

    • Academic Search Complete
      Large general database of articles from scholarly journals, newspapers and magazines covering a wide range of topics.
    • Environment Complete  
        
      Covers agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, geography, waste management, law, policy, social impacts, planning and more.
    • GeoRef
      1785 - Present
      This geoscience database published by the American Geological Institute indexes the world's geological, geophysical, mineralogical, paleontological, and petrologic literature. Coverage includes journal articles from more than 4000 journals; theses and dissertations; state, federal and foreign government documents; technical reports; conference proceedings; books and book chapters; and maps.
    • GeoScience World
      A comprehensive Internet resource for research and communications in the geosciences, built on a core database aggregation of peer-reviewed journals indexed, linked, and inter-operable with GeoRef. The database indexes and provides full text for journals published by American Association of Petroleum Geology, Geological Society of America, Mineralogical Society of America, Paleontological Society, SEPM Society for Sedimentary Geology, and others.
    • GoogleScholar
      A Google search focused on academic literature. As with any search engine, be sure to evaluate the sources you find. Not all results from Google Scholar are scholarly or authoritative.
    • Inspec
      Indexes journals and conference proceedings, primarily from physics, computer science, and electrical engineering. Also includes some physical chemistry (1898-present).
    • LANDSAT 7 Satellite Image Server
      The purpose of Ohiolink's "LANDSAT 7 Satellite Image Server "...is to provide satellite imagery of the state of Ohio to researchers, teachers, the general public, and other potential satellite data users. It is meant to serve experts and non-experts alike. Urban growth, natural resource loss, and crop health are a few of the environmental issues that may be monitored with this type of satellite data."
    • Monthly Catalog of U.S. Government Publications - GPO File
      Indexes documents published by the U.S. Federal Government agencies, including books, reports, studies, serials, and maps. Covers a wide range of topics.
    • Scopus
      Scopus is an abstract and citation database containing both peer-reviewed research literature and quality web sources. With over 18,000 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers, Scopus offers researchers resources to support their research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and, more recently, also in the arts and humanities.
    • USGS Publications Warehouse
      This warehouse indexes bulletins, circulars, reports, maps, atlases, etc. Over 73737 items are listed, with 47171 full text items available. This site is updated daily.
    • Web of Science (ISI)
      1965-present
      Broad scientific database. Includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index which can be searched together or separately.
     

    Literature Reviews

    Reviews of the literature survey the important primary literature sources and other works on a particular topic, usually over a given time span. They provide the bibliographic information needed to find the original works, and summarize the most important points about advances in that period.

    Annual Review of Earth and Planetary Sciences Online from Annual Reviews (1973 to present) and EBSCOhost (1996 through all but the past 12 months)
    Distinguished researchers and editors critically review and synthesize the most significant research literature on topics relevant to earth and planetary science. In addition to full text coverage from 1973 to the present, the Reviews in Advance feature provides full-length reviews published online immediately after full editing and revision, up to seven months in advance of the print volume.
    Reviews in Mineralogy and Geochemistry Science QE351 .R47 v.8-
    This series reviews the literature of mineralogy with each volume focusing on a specific topic. The previous title of this work is Reviews in Mineralogy.
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip