LibGuides: Anthropology: Reference/Background Sources

Suggested titles

Here are a few Anthropology related reference titles available in our collection. More of these can be located using the CONSORT catalog.

Credo Reference
Credo Reference enables users to find authoritative answers fast. It features content from hundreds of reference books in a broad range of subjects. There are over 270 titles consisting of an aggregate of 3.1 million entries all interconnected by over 100,000,000 links.
Encyclopedia of Anthropology
This four volume set is a comprehensive encyclopedia with contributions from scholars world-wide. Each entry includes a brief bibliography.
Encyclopedia of cultural anthropology
This four volume encyclopedia covers all of the sub-fields, important persons, topics, concepts, and organizations in the field of cultural anthropology. Each essay also includes a bibliography for further research.
Encyclopedia of Human Evolution & Prehistory. 2d ed.
A one volume encyclopedia with coverage of the latest research and theory on human evolution. Lengthy bibliographies with each essay.
Encyclopedia of medical anthropology : health and illness in the world's cultures
A one volume encyclopedia published in conjunction with the Human Relations Area Files.
Encyclopedia of World Cultures
This ten volume set provides comprehensive, authoritative descriptions of 1500+ cultural groups from around the world. Includes historical, political, linguistic, religious, social, economic and other information on each culture.