This is the "Databases" page of the "Mathematical Science" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Mathematical Science  

Last Updated: Feb 5, 2014 URL: http://libguides.wooster.edu/math Print Guide RSS Updates

Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 

Useful Links

  • Ask A Librarian
    Need help fast? Click here to chat with the Research Help Desk - or to contact a library staff member.
  • Journal Finder
    Find Wooster's print and electronic journals with this simple search.
  • Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad)
    Need an article we don't own? Request through ILL! Registration required.
  • Citing Sources
    Provides links to resources about citing sources.

Finding journals in the library

Once you have a citation:

Follow the HTML or PDF link to the article full text in the database - then read, download, or print OR

Use the FIND IT button found in many of the databases AND/OR

Use the Ejournal/Journal link on the libraries home page and search by the name of the journal or magazine AND

If the journal is not available in print on online at Wooster, the article may be requested from another library through Illiad  AND/OR

Request assistance at the Reference Desk

 

      

    All Mathematics Databases

    • ACM Digital Library
      Access full text of every article ever published by ACM. The ACM Portal is published by the Association for Computing Machinery.
    • Article 1st (FirstSearch)
      1990 - present
      Indexes nearly 12,500 journals in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities and popular culture. Updated daily. Coverage is from 1990 to the present.
    • arXiv.org
      Open e-print archive with over 100,000 articles in physics, 10,000 in mathematics, and 1,000 in computer science.
    • BIOSIS Previews
      1969-present
      Contains citations to items in over 6,000 journals, books, conference proceedings, and technical reports, in all areas of the life sciences and biology, including bioengineering, and biostatistics.
    • CEDRAM: Centre de diffusion de revues académiques mathématiques
      The center for diffusion of academic mathematical journals (CEDRAM) is a portal for common access to a set of mathematical journals.
    • Compendex
      1884 - present
      Most comprehensive bibliographic database of engineering research literature, containing references to over 5000 engineering journals and conferences.
    • Electronic Research Archive for Mathematics
      A database created from the "Jahrbuch über die Fortschritte der Mathematik." Coverage: 1868-1942
    • INSPEC
      1898-present
      Citations from scholarly journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, and dissertations in physics, electrical engineering and electronics, computers and control, and information technology.
    • MathSciNet
      Produced by the American Mathematical Society (AMS), MathSciNet is a comprehensive database covering the world’s mathematical literature since 1940.
    • Safari Tech Books Online
      Provides full-text access to books in science, technology and medicine from the premier information technology publishers O’Reilly & Associates, Inc. and the Pearson Technology Group. Individual titles are listed in the CONSORT catalog.
    • Zentralblatt für Mathematik
      Zentralblatt MATH is the world's most complete and longest running abstracting and reviewing service in pure and applied mathematics. The database contains more than 2.0 million entries drawn from more than 2300 serials and journals. While we do not have a subscription to this database, searchers can view up to the first three reviews of each result set. Coverage: 1868 - present.
    • Google Scholar
      Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
    • Web of Science (ISI)
      1965-present
      Broad scientific database. Includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index which can be searched together or separately.
     

    Mathematics Periodicals

    Scholarly journals are usually considered the most important primary source of information in science. The three major functions of scientific communication are establishing intellectual property, evaluating work through the peer-review process and serving as a vehicle for disseminating information. A few of the many magazines and journals of interest to students of mathematics include:

    *JSTOR is a digital archive of important scholarly journals in many discplines. You may view a list of mathematics journals available through JSTOR at their site.

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip