Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Fall 2020 Libraries Guide: Streaming Media

Streaming Media

Video is, as they say, complicated.  This year you will want to be aware if you use physical DVDs, there will be a three-day quarantine between check outs.  The other option is streaming video.  The reality is there just may not be a streaming version of every title we may have in our DVD collection that you want to use.  For this one year, it may be necessary to make adjustments to the film titles you use in your classes.

While we do our best to provide streaming video resources it is expensive.  When we purchase video titles, whether DVD or streaming, we sometimes have to pay a higher price as a library because of included “public performance rights,” required to show a film to a group outside of the classroom situation.

Our Main Sources for Streaming Video

We have worked to provide several sources for streaming video titles including:

Kanopy (https://wooster.kanopy.com)—This is our main source for streaming video titles.  It isn’t like Netflix where you pay a subscription fee and have unlimited access to all of the titles.  While we have access to all of the titles, a one-year license is purchased for $135 after four viewings.  This can cost us several thousand dollars each month.  That doesn’t mean we don’t want you to use them, we simply ask you and students to use these titles for academic or co-curricular purposes.  Kanopy titles can be found in the CONSORT catalog and when providing links we recommend you use the link from the CONSORT record.  We recommend you create a Kanopy account from a computer when on campus if possible. While not limited to these titles, a list of titles for which we already have a license can be found on our website.

Swank Digital Campus (https://www.swank.com/digital-campus/) –To use this collection you would need to search and identify if the film is available.  If so, you would need to arrange with Mark Gooch (mgooch@wooster.edu) to have the title made available for the year.  You would then be provided with access information and a record will be added to CONSORT.

DocuSeek2 (https://docuseek2.com/cart/atoz) –To use this collection you need to search and identify if the film is available in this collection.  If so, you would need to arrange with Mark Gooch (mgooch@wooster.edu) to have the title made available.  You would then be provided with access information and a record will be added to CONSORT.

Films Media Group (https://www.films.com) –To use this collection you need to search and identify if the film is available in this collection.  If so, you would need to arrange with Mark Gooch (mgooch@wooster.edu) to have the title made available.  You would then be provided with access information and a record will be added to CONSORT.

Academic Video Online (AVON)—We no longer subscribe to this collection but during the time of our subscription, we were able to purchase permanent access to a number of titles.  These titles can be found in CONSORT and a list is available on our web site

Potential Free Sources

There are also some free services such as TubiTV, Crackle, and Vudu that have films available but include commercials throughout the films.  The service JustWatch can be used to try and find a source for the streaming version of films.

A Note About DVDs

While we may have a title in our DVD collection there are some legal prohibitions you should be aware of.  It is not legal to take one of our DVDs and play and record it or digitize it.  This is a violation of copyright and/or licensing.

Sources Not Available Through the Libraries

There are a number of other services with films available.  The Libraries don’t have access to these services and are unable to provide access to those titles:

  1. Vimeo
  2. YouTube Originals
  3. Netflix
  4. Amazon Prime
  5. Sundance

We are also unable to access titles available to other schools as this is prevented by the legal licensing for those resources.

Questions regarding videos can be directed to the librarian liaisons or Mark Gooch (mgooch@wooster.edu).

Subject Guide