Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

FYS - Art of the Copy - Bonk, Fall 2020 by Mark Gooch: Primary Sources

Primary Sources

Here are examples of some of the many primary sources we have available:

  1. Special Collections
    1. The Professor and the Parson: A Story of Desire, Deceit, and Defrocking (Robert Peters)
      1. The Polished Prof (Time, vol.63, issue 23, June, 8, 1953, pp.81-82)
  2. Historical Newspapers and Periodicals
    1. British Library Newspapers (19th Century )
    2. African-American Newspapers (Antebellum south-Civil Rights movement)
    3. Historical Newspapers (ProQuest) (Major U.S. Newspapers; mid-1800s-1990s)
    4. 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers (English media)
    5. Early American Newspapers
      1. Series 4: The Rise of Industry 1756-1922
      2. Series 10: Regional Pioneers 1730-1900
      3. Series 13: The American West 1803-1916
    6. Understanding Hate in America (83 Ku Klux Klan and 6 anti-Ku Klux Klan newspapers, 1915-1931)
    7. American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection (1691-1865)
    8. American Periodicals Series (1741-1900)
  3. Archives Unbound Collections
    1. American Indian Correspondence:  Presbyterian Historical Society Collection
    2. American Indian Movement and Native American Radicalism
    3. Black Economic Empowerment:  The National Negro Business League
    4. Evangelism in India:  Correspondence of the Board of Foreign Mission, 1833-1910
    5. Federal Response to Radicalism in the 1960s
    6. Federal Surveillance of African Americans, 1920-1984
    7. Feminism in Cuba: Nineteenth through Twentieth Century Archival Documents
    8. German Folklore and Popular Culture:  Das Kloster. Scheible
    9. Intelligence Reports from the National Security Council’s Vietnam Information Group1967-1975
    10. James Meredith, J. Edgar Hoover, and the Integration of the University of Mississippi
    11. Meriam Report on Indian Administration and the Survey of Conditions of the Indians in the U.S.
    12. Overland Journeys: Travels in the West, 1800-1880
    13. Papers of Amiri Baraka, Poet Laureate of the Black Power Movement
    14. Ralph J. Bunche Oral Histories Collection on the Civil Rights Movement
    15. The Indian Trade in the Southeastern Spanish Borderlands: Papers of Panton, Leslie and Company
    16. The Quest for Labor Equality in Household Work: National Domestic Workers Union, 1965-1979
    17. The War Department and Indian Affairs, 1800-1824
    18. We Were Prepared for the Possibility of Death: Freedom Riders in the South, 1961
    19. Witchcraft in Europe and America
  4. America’s Historical Imprints:  Evans and Shaw-Shoemaker (1639-1900)
  5. Brazilian and Portuguese History and Culture:  The Oliveira Lima Library (19th Century)
  6. China: Culture and Society (1750-1929)
  7. China: Trade, Politics, and Culture (1793-1980)
  8. Chinese Text Project
  9. Digital National Security Archive (1945-present)
  10. Early English Books
  11. Eighteenth Century Collections Online
  12. Gerritson Collection (1543-1945)
  13. History Vault
    1. Civil Rights and the Black Freedom Struggle
    2. Southern Life, Slavery and the Civil War
    3. Revolutionary War and Early America
    4. Women’s Studies
  14. Kent State Shootings: Oral Histories
  15. Vanderbilt Television News Archive
  16. The Professor and the Parson: A Story of Desire, Deceit, and Defrocking (Robert Peters)
    1. The Polished Prof (Time, vol.63, issue 23, June, 8, 1953, pp.81-82)