Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Throughout this Guide are resources to get you started researching in the area of Communication Studies. Depending on your topic, you may also find the Guides in Communication Sciences & Disorders, Psychology and Sociology to be helpful. Further assistance is available at the Research Help Desk in the Gault Library, or by directly contacting the liaison librarian, Elys Kettling Law.
Professional Associations & Societies
Top Database Recommendations
Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost)
A comprehensive scholarly, multidisciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Given the broad nature of communication studies, searches of this general database are essential.
APA PsycINFO 1800s to present (EBSCOhost)
Abstracts scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. Produced by the American Psychological Association, it is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.
ComAbstracts (CIOS) This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracting for the primary professional literature of communication, including the contents of 150 professional journals.
Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCOhost)) 1915 to present
Broad coverage of communication and mass media article literature published in more than 700 journals, including full text coverage for 450 titles. Incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State)
Psychological & Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCOhost)
Covers topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. This is the world's largest full text psychology database offering full text coverage for nearly 400 journals.
Sociological Collection (Ebscohost)
Covers all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure in nearly 500 peer-reviewed titles.
Web of Science
A multidisciplinary database including in its Core Collection indexing of journals in the arts, humanities, sciences, and social sciences 1965 to present. The Core Collection covers all areas of communication studies, and allows for cited and citing reference searching.
Need an Appointment?
During the academic year, Elys is typically available 8:30am - 6pm, M-F. Appointment requests can be made anytime using the Research Consultation Form.