Skip to Main Content

Spanish: Online Reference Shelf

A selected guide for research on Spanish literature, language, and culture.

Online Reference

Biography Reference Bank (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Biography Reference Bank provides biographical information on approximately half a million people, from antiquity to the present, along with thousands of images. BRB offers substantive narrative profiles, each about 2,000 words long, from H.W. Wilson publications and other respected publishers.

Concise Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature
"... includes all entries on topics and countries, cited by many reviewers as being among the best entries in the book; entries on the 50 leading writers in Latin America from colonial times to the present; and detailed articles on some 50 important works in this literature-those who read and studied in the English-speaking world."

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference enables users to find authoritative answers fast. It features content from hundreds of reference books in a broad range of subjects. There are over 270 titles consisting of an aggregate of 3.1 million entries all interconnected by over 100,000,000 links.

Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean Literature, 1900-2003
"... draws together entries on all aspects of literature including authors, critics, major works, magazines, genres, schools and movements in these regions from the beginning of the twentieth century to the present day."

Historical Statistics of the United States (Cambridge) This link opens in a new window
This thoroughly revised five-volume reference work, available both in print and electronic editions, reflects thirty years of new data and scholarship. Topics ranging from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America are each placed in historical context by a recognized expert in the field.

Latino Literature
Contains approximately 48 plays and 13,000 pages of prose and poetry by Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican and other Latin writers working in the United States. When complete this database will include 100,000 pages of fiction and poetry and 450 plays. The vast majority of the materials are from the Chicano Renaissance to the present.

Oxford Reference Premium Online (Oxford) This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference Online Premium includes full text of a bout 100+ dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works from Oxford University Press; key titles from the Oxford Companion Series; and the full test of the Oxford Dictionary of Quotations.

Learner Experience Librarian

Denise Monbarren

Email Me

Contact:

Special Collections Librarian

(330) 263-2527

dmonbarren@wooster.edu

Subjects: Dance, Film Studies, First Year Seminar, History, Latin American Studies, Reference, Spanish, Theatre, Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies