Latin American Studies: Selected Links

The Foreign Relations of the United States series presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity

Hosted by the Assassination Archives and Research Center, this website includes pdf files of the entire transcripts of the 1975-76 Senate Church Committee Report investigating U.S. involvement in plots to assassinate foreign leaders including Fidel Castro (Cuba), Rafael Trujillo (Dominican Republic), and General Rene Schneider (Chile).

This Library of Congress Exhibit features 68 motion pictures produced between 1898 and 1901 of the Spanish-American War and the subsequent Philippine Revolution.

Yale Law School's database of U.S. treaties. Searchable by century, name, and countries involved. Full text.

The North American Congress on Latin America (NACLA) is an independent, nonprofit organization founded in 1966 that works toward a world in which the nations and peoples of Latin America and the Caribbean are free from oppression and injustice, and enjoy a relationship with the United States based on mutual respect, free from economic and political subordination.

Below are descriptions and links to Cuban Heritage Collection digital collections with digital manuscripts, photographs, letters, maps and other resources held in the University of Miami Libraries Cuban Heritage Collection. These presentations have been developed collaboratively by teams comprised of archivists, Digital Initiatives staff and the Cataloging Department.

A U.S. Latino oral history archive that collects the stories of Latinos and Latinos who served in World War II, the Korean War, the Vietnam War, or were involved in political and civic engagement, focusing on the continuing fight for Latino civil rights.

Presenting the personal recollections of 173 Tejanos and Tejanas and their struggle against racial discrimination in post-World War II Texas. Includes recordings and transcriptions of their testimonies.

Primary sources recounting the history of Cesar Chavez and the Farmworker movement. Includes images, oral histories, videos, music, and photos.

The Texas Slavery Project examines the spread of American slavery into the borderlands between the United States and Mexico in the decades between 1820 and 1850.

Images, texts, music, and articles highlighting Chicano history and culture. In Spanish.

Collects and makes available the oral histories and artifacts pertaining to the Bracero program, a guest worker initiative that spanned the years 1942-1964. Millions of Mexican agricultural workers crossed the border under the program to work in more than half of the states in America.

Documenting the stories of over 1000 immigrants, the Immigrant Archive Project contains oral histories, videos, blogs, and podcasts

A digital archive that contains the oral histories of Latin American migrants in North Carolina and the experiences of North Carolinians that have worked for the integration of new settlers into this southern state.

Over fifty interviews were conducted to document the experiences of Brooklyn residents who arrived from Puerto Rico, Panama, Ecuador, and several other Central and South American nations in the latter half of the twentieth century. This collection includes recordings and transcripts of interviews conducted between 1988 and 1989. The oral histories often contain descriptions of immigration, living arrangements, neighborhood demographics, discrimination, employment, community development, and political leadership.

Over 30 oral histories covering topics including Central Americans in California, Latinos in film, music, politics, Mexican American Civil Rights and the Sleepy Lagoon Case.

More than 100 interviews have been recorded with Latino leaders, writers, poets, artists, scholars, and Notre Dame Alumni, with a particular emphasis on the Midwestern United States.

Interviews on the Chicano Movement in Washington State.

Digital copies of truth commission reports from Argentina (1984), Chile (1991), El Salvador (1993), Guatemala (1999), and Peru (2003).

This digital collection documents the human rights activism of the Rabbi Marshall T. Meyer in 1970’s and 1980’s Argentina. The collection consists of the correspondence, project files, subject files, publications, and other documents contained in the Argentina subseries of the Geographic series of the Marshall T. Meyer papers held at Duke University's David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library.

El Proyecto Desaparecidos es una propuesta de distintos organismos y activistas de derechos humanos para recuperar y mantener la memoria, entender lo que pasó en Argentina durante ese período y luchar contra la impunidad. Te invitamos a visitarlo, a contribuir, a unirte a nuestros esfuerzos - y más que nada, a recordar.

El Centro de Documental está desarrolla tareas de recuperación, resguardo y difusión de la información histórica y colectiva proveniente de documentos públicos o privados –textos, fotografías, material audiovisual y oral– relacionados con la Historia Reciente de nuestro país y especialmente el Terrorismo de Estado durante la última dictadura cívico militar en la Argentina.

Paul Dix's photographs of victims of the Contra violence. Mature audiences only. Contains images of people wounded in war.

The John Carter Brown Library's online database of images throughout the Americas from 1492 and 1825.

Dartmouth's website includes primary and secondary sources about the famous 17th century Mexican nun and poet.

Searchable database of images of slaves in the Americas.

One thousand manuscript maps from the Library of Congress.

The documents comprising the Relaciones Geográficas are original responses to a questionnaire initiated by the Spanish Crown in 1577, requesting information about Spanish held territories in the Americas.

Full digitized version of Felipe Guaman Poma de Ayala's El primer nueva corónica y buen gobierno (1615/1616) includes a transcription as well as scans of each page.

The Mapas Project has as its focus the digitization and study of colonial Mesoamerican pictorial manuscripts. The term "mapa" was used loosely in New Spain to refer to pictorials that may or may not have had a cartographic dimension, but often showed the territories or landscapes of indigenous communities.

Linda Schele's drawings and rubbings of Maya sculpture.

The Latin American Travelogues digital collection, curated by Prof. James N. Green and Patricia Figueroa at Brown University, is a digital collection of Latin American travel accounts written in the 16th-19th centuries.

Data on Atlantic slave movement during the 18th and 19th centuries. This site provides access to the raw data and documentation.

LAOAP is a portal service providing access to social sciences grey literature produced in Latin America by research institutes, non-governmental organizations, and peripheral agencies. It encompasses working documents, pre-prints, research papers, statistical documents, and other difficult-to-access materials that are not controlled by commercial publishers.

http://pdba.georgetown.edu/

Oral histories and papers of Latino and Latin American Artists.

Sponsored by the University of Texas, LANIC is one of the largest guides to web information about Latin America.

Statistical information for twenty Latin American nations, 1900-2000.

Spanish-language primary sources on Mexican Independence.

From the wars of independence to today, this website provides full-text transcriptions of all Spanish-American constitutions. Organized by country, in Spanish.

These digital images of Mexican and Argentine presidential speeches from the 19th century represent the second phase of the Latin Americanist Research Resources Project.

Colecciones Mexicanas es un proyecto que nace con la finalidad de difundir y preservar acervos documentales, fotográficos, videográficos, bibliográficos y hemerográficos sobre la historia de México

Primary Sources about the Cuban Revolution. Includes transcriptions of US State Dept Dispatches, Senate Hearings, and photos.

An interdisciplinary, multinational research program to reconceptualize and document, both visually and textually, the history of people of African descent in Central America.

Harvard's Widener Library is the repository of many scarce and unique Latin American pamphlets published during the 19th and the early 20th centuries. There collection contains over 5,000 digitized pamphlets

Below are descriptions and links to Cuban Heritage Collection digital collections with digital manuscripts, photographs, letters, maps and other resources held in the University of Miami Libraries Cuban Heritage Collection. These presentations have been developed collaboratively by teams comprised of archivists, Digital Initiatives staff and the Cataloging Department.

Smithsonian Institution’s Archives of American Art digitized short films by Stefan Hirsch and Elsa Rogo showing market scenes, processions, and village life in Oaxaca and Guerrero.