Skip to Main Content

Physical Education: Reference Sources

Research resources and advice for Physical Education minors and topics.

Purpose of Reference Sources

Quick look-up

Background / Overview of a topic

Definitions of specialized terminology

Directory information

Biographical information

Print Reference Sources

Biographical Dictionary of American Sports: Basketball and Other Indoor Sports
WOO Reference GV697.A1 B494 1989
Biographical Dictionary of American Sports: 1992-1995 Supplement for Baseball, Football, Basketball, and Other Sports
WOO Reference GV697.A1 B494 1995
Encyclopedia of American Education
This three volume, brief entry encyclopedia is a useful starting point for topics in physical education, Title IX, and more.
more...less...
3rd ed. 2007. By Harlow G. Unger.
Encyclopedia of Ethnicity and Sports in the United States
WOO Reference GV709.5 .E83 2000
Encyclopedia of Psychology
WOO Reference BF31 .E52 2000
Encyclopedia of Sports Science
WOO Reference GV558 .E53 1997
more...less...
This two-volume encyclopedia covers sports medicine, sports physiology, and related exercise science topics.
Encyclopedia of the Modern Olympic Movement
WOO Reference GV721.5 .H546 2004
International Encyclopedia of Women and Sports
WOO Reference GV709 .I58 2001
Professional sports statistics : a North American team-by-team and major non-team events, year-by-year reference, 1876 through 1996
WOO Reference GV581 .G37 1997
Sports Injuries Sourcebook: Basic Consumer Health Information about Common Sports Injuries...
WOO Science Reference RD97 .S736 1999
Research Methods for Sports Studies
WOO Reference GV706.8 .G726 2010
more...less...
2nd ed. By Chris Gratton and Ian Jones, Routledge, 2010.

Online Reference Sources

AccessScience: McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology Online (McGraw-Hill) This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia of science and technology
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary collection of dictionaries and encyclopedias.

Encyclopedia of World Sport: From Ancient Times to the Present
more...less...
2006. ABC-CLIO. David Levinson and Karen Christensen, editors.
OhioLINK Electronic Book Center: Scholarly and Reference Ebooks
The Oxford Dictionary of Sports Science & Medicine
more...less...
3rd ed. By Michael Kent. 2006.