LibGuides: Music: Music and Video Streaming and Sheet Music Downloads

Subscription Music Streaming Sites

The following site provides The College of Wooster students, faculty, staff, and on-campus users access to streaming audio.

Naxos Music Library
more...less...
The world's largest online classical music library which offers the catalogs of more than 50 classical, jazz and world music labels with more labels joining every month. For information on creating playlists please contact the Music liaison librarian.

Music Online: Listening (Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window
Includes multiple music collections including American Music, Classical Music Library, Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries, Jazz Music Library, Popular Music Library, and Contemporary World Music.

OhioLink Music Center The OhioLINK Music Center contains tens of thousands of digital music files, all available for educational use to the students, faculty and staff of OhioLINK's member institutions. Search by keyword or simply browse through the holdings by selecting a category

Open Access Streaming Audio Sites

National Jukebox: Historical Recordings from the Library of Congress
more...less...
"About the National Jukebox

The Library of Congress presents the National Jukebox, which makes historical sound recordings available to the public free of charge. The Jukebox includes recordings from the extraordinary collections of the Library of Congress Packard Campus for Audio Visual Conservation and other contributing libraries and archives. Recordings in the Jukebox were issued on record labels now owned by Sony Music Entertainment, which has granted the Library of Congress a gratis license to stream acoustical recordings.

At launch, the Jukebox includes more than 10,000 recordings made by the Victor Talking Machine Company between 1901 and 1925. Jukebox content will be increased regularly, with additional Victor recordings and acoustically recorded titles made by other Sony-owned U.S. labels, including Columbia, OKeh, and others." From the site.
Recorded Sound Reference Center (Library of Congress)

Sheet Music

The lists and links below provide links to free sheet music download sites.

American Choral Music (Library of Congress & American Choral Directors Association)
This site "...provides access to significant choral music in the public domain by the leading American composers of the time."
Archive of Popular American Music (UCLA Music Library)
Downloadable "...digital versions of the sheet music, and performances of the songs now in the public domain."
Digital Collections (Duke University Libraries)
Contains more than one freely accessible collections of scores, along with many other collections.
Early Music Online
Free access site that includes some of the "world’s earliest surviving volumes of printed music" found in the following libraries: Royal Holloway, University of London, and the British Library. This is an ongoing project that continues to be added to over time.
IMSLP / Petrucci Music Library: The Free Public Domain Music Library.
Musical Scores (Univ. of Rochester, Eastman School of Music, Sibley Music Library)
Free access, public domain, library scores digitization project.
Online Resources for Music Scholars (Harvard College Library)
A searchable database of links to music digitization projects. "Most of the resources in this guide are freely accessible to all users; resources that are available only to Harvard affiliates are flagged."
The Sheet Music Project (Project Gutenberg)
Songs of America (Library of Congress)
Viewable and downloadable scores, audio recordings, and miscellaneous images, etc.
Southern Mosaic: The John and Ruby Lomax 1939 Southern States Recording Trip (Library of Congress, American Memory Project)
This collection is "...a multi-format ethnographic field collection that contains sound recordings, field notes, dust jackets, and other manuscripts. The collection documents the Lomaxes' three-month, 6,502-mile trip through the southern United States. The materials include 25 hours of folk music from more than 300 performers that feature ballads, blues, children's songs, cowboy songs, fiddle tunes, field hollers, lullabies, play-party songs, religious dramas, spirituals, and work songs."
Variations Prototype: Online Musical Scores (Indiana University Libraries)
This is a free access digital scores project test site that appears to be the beginnings of a larger digital scores project.