Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Historic and Archival Collections
The Artstor Digital Library is a nonprofit resource that provides over 1.6 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research.
Civil Rights Digital Library
Part of the Digital Library of Georgia and the Galileo Initiative
Dolphin Embryo Microscopic Slides
Dolphin Embryo Digitized Slides are scanned images of histological sections, captured using a digital camera connected to a microscope. Embryos were made available by the Los Angeles County Museum. The goal behind these sections is to allow researchers and others to be able to see each section individually to study histological embryology as well as use a group of images to see changes within tissues.
E. W. Scripps Papers, 1868-1926 (Ohio University)
E. W. Scripps Papers is a collection of letters and photos from the Scripps Manuscript Collection at Ohio University. Edward Willis Scripps (1854-1926) was a businessman and journalist associated with the founding of the Scripps Howard chain of newspapers and the United Press International independent news gathering company.
Forestry Images (OhioLINK)
This collection includes 5000 forestry images from Ohio State University. Ohio Agricultural Experiment Station Forestry Image Collection is a collection of photos of forestry, dating back to the early 20th century. Images portray trees, cultivation, care, and the effects of human activity. Many pictures were taken in Ohio but other states and countries are also represented.
Geology Images (Oberlin)
Geology Photographs is a collection of photos depicting natural features and the human impact on environments around the world. Provided by Oberlin College.
Greek and Latin Inscriptions (OhioLINK)
Greek and Latin Inscriptions is a collection of digitized squeezes (accurate paper impressions) of inscriptions from Greece, Italy, and Macedonia. The squeezes were contributed by the Center for Epigraphical and Palaeographical Studies at The Ohio State University, whose purpose is to foster the study of inscriptions and manuscripts and promote research opportunities for those interested in these primary sources of information about the ancient and mediaeval world.
Historic Maps of Akron and Summit County, Ohio (OhioLINK Digital Resource Commons)
Historic maps of Akron and Summit County, Ohio. Contributed by the University of Akron Libraries.
Kent State Shootings: Oral Histories (Kent State)
The Kent State Shootings Oral Histories project collects and provides access to personal accounts of the May 4, 1970, shootings and their aftermath. Founded in 1990 by Sandra Perlman Halem, the Project continues to record oral histories, including many eyewitness accounts, from a wide variety of viewpoints. The narrators are Kent State faculty, alumni, staff, and administrators, residents of the city of Kent, National Guardsmen, police, hospital personnel, and other persons whose lives were affected by these historic events.
Lake Erie's Yesterdays (OhioLINK)
The late local historian Charles E. Frohman of Sandusky, Ohio, collected more than 14,000 historic photographs documenting Lake Erie’s Western Basin, its shoreline communities,and the Erie Islands. The collection includes images that date from before the Civil War and span nearly one hundred years. From ice harvesting and railroads to early aviation and island leisure activities, these historic photographs richly depict the everyday lives and activities of Lake Erie's southern shoreline residents They provide a record of communities in transition as old methods gave way to advances in industry and technology.
Life Magazine Photo Archive
Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google.
Mayan Archaeology (Oberlin)
Maya Archaeology Photographs show Maya architecture and scenery from Mexico, Honduras, and Guatemala and serves as a resource for the exploration of the various and complex interrelationships within Maya society.
National Underground Railroad Freedom Center (OhioLINK)
We reveal stories about freedom's heroes, from the era of the Underground Railroad to contemporary times.
Wright Brothers Collection (Wright State University)
The Wright Brothers Collection housed in Special Collections and Archives in the Wright State University Libraries is one of the most complete collections of Wright material in the world. It includes the Wrights’ own technical and personal library, family papers including letters, diaries, financial records, genealogical files, and other documents detailing the lives and work of Wilbur and Orville Wright and the Wright Family. It also includes awards, certificates, medals, albums, recordings, and technical drawings. Perhaps the most valuable part of the collection are the thousands of photographs documenting the invention of the airplane and the lives of the Wright Family.
, First Year Seminar
, Global and International Studies
, Government Information
, Physical Education
, Political Science
, Russian Studies
, South Asia
, Urban Studies