Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Digital Media: Streaming Media

Streaming Media

Video is, as they say, complicated.  This year you will want to be aware of the fact physical DVDs will have a three-day quarantine between check outs.  The other option is streaming video.  The reality is there just may not be a streaming version of every title we may have in our DVD collection that you may want to use.  For this one year, it may be necessary to make adjustments to the film titles you use in your courses.

While we do our best to provide streaming video resources, it is expensive.  When we purchase video titles, whether DVD or streaming, we sometimes have to pay a higher price as a library because of included "public performance rights," required to show a film to a group outside of a classroom situation.

A Note About DVDs

There are some legal prohibitions you should be aware of regarding the use of titles in our DVD collection.  It is not legal to take one of our DVDs and play and record it or digitize it.  This is considered changing the format and is a violation of copyright and/or licensing.  To do this requires the purchase of a Digital Site License (DSL) that is not always available for every film.

Sources for Streaming Video

We have worked to provide several sources for streaming video titles including:

Kanopy (https://wooster.kanopy.com)--These titles should be found in CONSORT.  Once you find a title in Kanopy you can just go ahead and use it.  It's important to be aware this service is not like Netflix where you pay an amount and have unlimited access to all titles.  We do have access to all titles and invite you to use them for educational purposes.  However, be aware after four viewings, a one-year license is purchased at a cost of $150.This can cost us several thousand dollars each month.  That doesn't mean we don't want you to use them, we simply ask you and students to use these titles for academic and co-curricular purposes.  When providing links to films, we recommend you use the link from the CONSORT record to easily provide access to any off-campus users. 

Swank Digital Campus (https://www.swank.com/digital-campus/)--To use this collection you would need to search and identify if the film is available in this collection.  If so, you would need to arrange with Mark Gooch (mgooch@wooster.edu) to have the title made available for the year.  This could take several days to make available.  You would then be provided with access information and a record will be added to CONSORT.

Docuseek2 (wooster.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://docuseek2.com/cart/atoz)--To use this collection you would need to search and identify if the film is available in this collection.  If so, you would need to arrange with Mark Gooch (mgooch@wooster.edu) to have the title made available for the year.  This could take several days to make available.  You would then be provided with access information and a record will be added to CONSORT.

Films Media Group (https://www.films.com/)--To use this collection you would need to search and identify if the film is available in this collection.  If so, you would need to arrange with Mark Gooch (mgooch@wooster.edu) to have the title made available for the year.  This could take several days to make available.  You would then be provided with access information and a record will be added to CONSORT.

Academic Video Online (AVON) (wooster.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://search.alexanderstreet.com/video)--To use this collection you would need to search and identify if the film is available in this collection.  If so, you would need to arrange with Mark Gooch (mgooch@wooster.edu) to have the title made available for the year.  This could take several days to make available.  You would then be provided with access information and a record will be added to CONSORT.  We do have a list of titles we have purchased from AVON.  These titles are also found in CONSORT.

InfoBase Films on Demand (https://wooster.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://fod.infobase.com/PortalPlayLists.aspx?wid=239116)--This custom video collection includes the Humanities & Social Sciences, Science, Health and Medicine, World Cinema, Allied Health, Nursing, Feature Films, and Physical Therapy subject areas.  Part of the OhioLINK Governor’s Emergency Education Relief (GEER) funds. 

"Free" Sources

There are also some free services such as TubiTV and Crackle that have films available but include commercials.  The service JustWatch can be used to try and find a source for the streaming version of films.

Sources Not Available Through the Libraries

There are a number of other services with films available.  The Libraries don't have access to these services and are unable to provide access to those titles:

  1. Vimeo
  2. YouTube Originals
  3. Netflix
  4. Amazon Prime
  5. Sundance

We are unable to access titles available to other schools as this is prevented by the legal licensing for those resources.

Questions regarding videos can be directed to the librarian liaisons or Mark Gooch (mgooch@wooster.edu).