eBooks: Arts and Humanities

Online collection of 4,700+ books of high quality in the humanities covering 1857-present.

Publication Dates: 1760-1975. Historical Coverage: 1760-1900. Full text of almost 3000 poems written by African-American poets in the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. Included are allegories, broadsides, children's poems, elegiac poems, epics, hymns, odes, patriotic poems, and sonnets. The poets are among those included in the William French et al. bibliography, Afro-American Poetry and Drama, 1760-1975.

American Drama currently contains more than 700 plays from over 300 dramatists. When finished, American Drama will feature the complete texts of more than 2,000 plays written by American dramatists.

Contains the full text of over 40,000 poems by more than 200 writers from the 17th Century to the early 20th Century, including the full text of over 1200 poetry collections listed in the Bibliography of American Literature, published by Yale University Press.

The Project for American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language (ARTFL) is a cooperative enterprise of the Laboratoire ATILF (Analyse et Traitement Informatique de la Langue Française) of the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS), the Division of the Humanities, and Electronic Text Services (ETS) of the University of Chicago.

Early American Fiction contains 440 works of 80 novelists and short-story writers, 1774-1850. This database comprises the full texts of the first editions of American novels and short stories written before 1850 by authors of significance during their lifetimes.

Books, pamphlets, and broadsides published during the 17th and 18th centuries. From the bibliography by Charles Evans and Roger Bristol's Supplement. Published in cooperation with the American Antiquarian Society.

Books, pamphlets, and broadsides published during the 17th and 18th centuries. From the bibliography by Charles Evans and Roger Bristol's Supplement. Published in cooperation with the American Antiquarian Society.

Books, pamphlets, and broadsides published during the early 19th century. From the bibliography by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker. Published in cooperation with the American Antiquarian Society.

Books, pamphlets, and broadsides published during the early 19th century. From the bibliography by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker. Published in cooperation with the American Antiquarian Society.

Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700-- from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.

"traces the history of printing in Europe from its origins through to the close of the seventeenth century, offering full-colour, high-resolution facsimile images of rare and hard-to-access printed sources."

Contains "...complete text of eleven major editions of Shakespeare's works from the First Folioto the Cambridge edition of 1863-6, twenty-four separate contemporary printings of individual plays, selected apocrypha and related works and more than 100 adaptations, sequels and burlesques from the seventeenth, eighteenth and nineteenth centuries."

"Provides the completetext of 96 works of prose fiction, written in the British Isles between1700 and 1780."

Contains the "...full text of over 160,000 poems written in English [excluding American poetry] by approximately 1,350 poets between the years 600 and 1900." Coverage includes "...the full text of over 4400 poetry collections listed in the New Cambridge Bibliography of English Literature. Many of these collections are rare books, unavailable in print form."

This database "...is based on plays listed in the New Cambridge Bibliography of English Literature that were written or intended for the stage and wholly or primarily in prose."

Contains "...the full text of over 2200 plays by more than 500 named authors and 300 anonymous works, from the Shrewsbury Fragments of the late Thirteenth Century through the end of the Nineteenth Century." This database "...is based on materials listed in the New Cambridge Bibliography of English Literature, selecting materials that are written or intended for the stage and wholly or primarily in verse."

The Loeb Classical Library, founded by James Loeb in 1911, has always been to make Greek and Latin literature accessible to the broadest range of readers.