Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases and Indexex
CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online (1991- present)
is a comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences. It is divided into the following categories: working papers, conference proceedings, journal abstracts, books, a schedule of events, policy briefs and economic indicators, links and resources, and maps and country data. Updated monthly. (Information taken from Which Database to Use)
Ethnic NewsWatch (1985-present)
is a full-text collection of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority, and press. The search interface is offered in both English and Spanish. Under the subject of “international relations” there are many listings from which to choose.
FBIS Index (coverage: 1941-Jan. 2, 1996)
Provides full-text access to FBIS publications issued by the Foreign Broadcast Information Service of the U.S. Government. Documents include translated transcripts of foreign radio and television broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements from around the world. The earlier texts are located in the Government Publications microfiche cabinets under the beginning Superintendent of Documents number PREX 7.10/3: [series]. From 1996 to the present, these publications are on CD-ROM in the Documents CD-ROM cabinets on level 1 (Docs Ref. Electronic PREX 7.10/
Handbook of Latin American Studies (Library of Congress) This link opens in a new window
Indexes and offers scholarly evaluations of books and book chapters, conference papers, and journal articles from more than 1,350 social science and 550 humanities journals and conference proceedings published worldwide in the field of Latin American studies. Updated monthly.
International Political Science Abstracts (Library has 1982-present) WOO Reference JA36 .I5
“has provided since 1951 non evaluative abstracts of articles in the field of political science published in journals (and yearbooks) all over the world.” Published bimonthly. (Information taken from Explanatory Notes.)
includes about journals in the political science, African studies, economics, Latin American studies, Middle East studies, and Slavic studies fields. The database provides an historical coverage usually from the beginning of a periodical title to within five years of the current date. Full-text is available.
A broad-based database that provides indexing and full text access to sources in the general categories of news, business, legal research, medicine, and reference. Political science and international relations topics are covered particularly in the news and reference sections.
Newspaper Source (EBSCOhost)
provides indexing, abstracts, and full text for 171 regional U.S. newspapers, 20 international newspapers, 15 newswires and newspaper columns, 24 TV and radio news transcripts, The Christian Science Monitor, The Los Angeles Times, and USA Today (for a total of 233 full text newspapers and other sources.
PAIS International (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
indexes articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, Internet sources, and statistical directories about public affairs. Abstracts are included for most records from 1985 to the present. Each year, PAIS indexers review more than 8000 books and issues of more than 1600 periodicals. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed. PAIS international includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world. In addition to English, some of the indexed materials are published in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish.
(years of coverage vary) provides indexing and full text access to sources that allow users to: track legislation and public policy, pinpoint expert testimony on leading issues of the day, find authoritative sources of statistics, projections, and analysis; trace legislative history back to 1970, find Congressional member legislative and voting information, find floor votes back to the 100th Congress, investigate the finances of members of Congress, review federal regulations, learn the makeup and mission of congressional committees and subcommittees and much more.
Emerging Technologies Librarian
, East Asia
, Electronic Books
, First Year Seminar
, Global and International Studies
, Government Information
, Open Access
, Physical Education
, Political Science
, Russian Studies
, South Asia
, Urban Studies