Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Harpweek - The Civil War Era: 1857-1865
1857 - 1871
HarpWeek is a unique online journal database that provides complete images and hypertext linking of the journal during the Civil War years (1857-1865) and the Reconstruction years (from 1866-1871). Researchers are able to access the illustrations, cartoons, news, literature, editorials, and ads that are a part of these historic volumes. Civil War and Reconstruction researchers should find this to be a valuable primary resource.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (Gale/Cengage)
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) provides full-text, fully searchable content from a wide range of primary sources. Selected with the guidance of an international team of expert advisors, these primary sources are invaluable for a wide range of academic disciplines and areas of study, providing never before possible research opportunities for one of the most studied historical periods. Archives published in the program include works in Western as well as non-Western languages and are sourced from rare collections at libraries and other venerable institutions from around the globe. Each individual archive within Nineteenth Century Collections Online presents the raw materials scholars require for their research needs.
Periodicals Archive Online
Periodicals Archive Online is an archive of hundreds of digitised journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences.
General History Databases
America: History and Life
1964 - present
America: History and Life indexes and provides abstract summaries to sources on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. This database indexes over 2,000 journals published worldwide.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCOhost)
1955 - present
Historical Abstracts indexes and provides abstract summaries to sources on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life). Currently over 2,000 journals published throughout the world are covered in the database, making this a periodical database unmatched in breadth.
Black Studies Center
Black Studies Center is a fully cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, and much more.
It combines several resources for research and teaching in Black Studies: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP), historical black newspapers, and the Black Literature Index.
Gender Studies Database (EBSCOhost)
Gender Studies Database combines Women’s Studies International and Men’s Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues.
History Vault (ProQuest)
The collection — nearly 2 million pages of internal memos, legal briefings and direct action summaries from national, legal and branch offices throughout the country — charts NAACP's work and delivers a first-hand view into crucial issues: lynching, school desegregation, and discrimination in the military, the criminal justice system, employment, and housing, among others.
Race, slavery, and free blacks petitions to southern legislatures and southern county courts. The Slavery and the Law collection provides invaluable insight to scholars, students, and general readers of the humanities into testimony on a broad range of subjects by a variety of southerners—black and white, slave and free, slaveholder and non-slaveholder, man and woman.
National Underground Railroad Freedom Center (OhioLINK)
his collection provides digital versions of historical items from the National Underground Railroad Freedom Center.
Women and Social Movements in the United States (Alexander Street Press)
A resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000, this collection seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding at the same time that it makes the insights of women's history accessible to teachers and students at universities, colleges, and high schools. The collection currently includes 87 document projects with almost 2700 documents and 150,000 pages of additional full-text documents, and more than 2,060 primary authors. It includes as well book, film, and website reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools.
Women's Studies International (EBSCOhost)
1972 and Earlier to the Present
Produced by NISC, covers the core disciplines in Women's Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. This database supports curriculum development in the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education.
Historical Newspapers contains the full-text of the following newspapers: The New York Times (1851-2005), Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003), Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), Norfolk Journal and Guide (1921-2003), Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001), Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002), and The Chicago Defender (1910-1975).