Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Government Information Resources: Locating Government Resources

U.S. Federal Depository Library

This library is a congressionally designated depository for U.S. Government documents. Public access to the government documents collection is guaranteed by public law. (Title 44 United States Code)

Locating U.S. Government Resources

The College of Wooster has been a selective depository for U.S. government publications and resources since 1966. The library chooses materials from available federal information sources to support the curriculum, the I.S. program, faculty research, and community interests. These materials are organized in the library by the Superintendent of Documents (SuDocs) classification system. If you need assistance with this extensive collection, please ask a librarian for help.

Material Location
Document Ready Reference Gault 1 (behind Research Help Desk)
Document Reference Gault 1 (Reference Area)
Document Microfiche circulating collection Andrews Lower 2
Document Map collection
Document Reference Electronic collection
Andrews Lower 2
Documents circulating collection
Document Reference Serial Set
Andrews Lower 2
Document Reference Electronic (VHS and DVD)
(located in Media Collection)
Andrews 1

Reference Service

The Government Information Department staff offers reference service Monday through Friday from 8:00AM until 12:00PM and 1PM until 5PM.

The reference staff also provides assistance with government resources during regularly scheduled reference service hours.

Circulation

With the exception of Document Reference materials and other materials labeled for library use only, all government publications, regardless of format, may be checked out at the circulation desks with a valid College of Wooster ID or courtesy patron card.

Access

Nearly all government publications are included in the library catalog, CONSORT. Indexing for these materials is located in the Document Reference area, on the library network, and on the Internet, and a list of selected government publications indexes is available on our Web site. If you need assistance in using these indexes, please contact a member of the Government Information Department staff.