Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Purpose of Reference Sources
- Background / Overview of a topic
- Definitions of specialized terminology
- References (bibliographies) to key works in the field
Print Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
Online Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
Searchable Collections of Online Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Credo Reference enables users to find authoritative answers fast. It features content from hundreds of reference books in a broad range of subjects. There are over 600 titles, all searchable in one place.
GVRL: Gale Virtual Reference Library
GVRL provides you with a searchable database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research as selected by your The College of Wooster Libraries
Oxford Reference Online Premium
Oxford Reference Online Premium includes full text of about 135+ dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works from Oxford University Press; key titles from the Oxford Companion Series; and the full text of the Oxford Dictionary of Quotations.
Music Reference Collection
Content spanning time periods, genres, cultural groups, and geographic regions, together in one place. The collection contains full-text reference books, artwork, biographies, songsheets, dictionaries, and encyclopedias.