Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Digital Archives for WGSS Research: Home

This guide contains a number of links to digital archives that may provide primary source materials in support of WGSS courses.

What if I need more help?

More questions? Feel free to email me any specific questions and I'll get back to you within 1 business day.

Need to meet with me?

You are more than welcome to set up a virtual research consultation with me! If you're having a lot of trouble finding good, scholarly resources on your topic, please send me an email and let me know the following:

1. Where you've looked already and what keywords you've tried

2. A detailed description of your specific topic

3. Any specific kinds of materials that you need (i.e. primary sources, books, articles, films, etc.)

4. A handful of different times and days that you're available for a 30-minute to 1 hour phone call or Teams session. I'll walk you through what I would do if I needed to find materials on your topic.

Introduction to WGSS Digital Archives

WGSS digital archives contain rich primary source material documenting the histories of women and many marginalized and oppressed groups. Depending on the topic of your research, the archives that may be most useful for your work may document the legacies of racism and sexism that have characterized, to some degree, these histories. Think broadly about the kinds of materials you need to support your research.

These valuable archival materials have often been overlooked and under collected by many of the most prominent digital libraries. Still, advocates have built numerous excellent digital collections. This guide is by no means comprehensive; the collections included in this guide are meant to provide a starting point and an introduction to using digital archives in your WGSS research. 

Video Intro to Digital Archives

Digital Curation Librarian

Catie Heil's picture
Catie Heil
Contact:
Digital Collections,
Lower 1, Andrews Library
330-263-2225