Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Digital Scholarship Librarian & Director of the Collaborative Research Environment (CoRE)
How to Use This Guide
If you're researching for a class or an IS on a topic in English literature, welcome. We've created this guide to help you through the process.
- You can navigate through the steps in the research process by clicking through the tabs along the top of the guide: Searching, Evaluating, and Writing.
- Use this Home page as a reference and a jumping-off point, if you're ready to dive in. Your librarian contact information is on this page, as well as a number of resources from the Libraries' web pages that you might find helpful at various stages in your research and writing process.
- This guide can get you started, and it may even help you through a mental block, but to get tailored on your specific research, there's no substitute for a Research Consultation.
The Encyclopedia of Literary and Cultural Theory, 3 Volume Set by
Publication Date: 2011-01-18
A comprehensive encyclopedia of literary and cultural theory. Covers Literary Theory from 1900 to 1966, Literary Theory from 1966 to the present, and Cultural Theory. This encyclopedia provides accessible entries on the important concepts, theorists and trends in post-1900 literary and cultural theory. With explanations of complex terms and important theoretical concepts, and summaries of the work and ideas of key figures, it is a highly informative reference work for a multi-disciplinary readership. (From the publisher)
Jump into your Research
If you're ready to start our research, then you can jump right in here. The MLA International Bibliography is a great resource for criticism about literature. Click through to the database and out your search terms to work!
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCOhost)
Produced by the Modern Language Association, the MLA International Bibliography
indexes sources in literature, language & linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, rhetoric, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing & publishing. Sources include journals, monographs, working papers, proceedings, and dissertations. Coverage is from the 1920s to present.
If you're not quite ready to jump into your searches, check our "Searching" tab to kick off your process.