Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Throughout this Guide are resources to get you started researching in the discipline of Anthropology. Depending on your topic, you may also find the Guides in Archaeology, Classical Studies, History, and Sociology to be helpful. Further assistance is available at the Research Help Desk in the Gault Library, or by directly contacting the liaison librarian, Elys Kettling Law.
Browsing in Anthropology
The College of Wooster Libraries use the Library of Congress classification for materials. Anthropology resources are most often found under Library of Congress call letters GF (Anthropo-geography), GN (Anthropology), GR (Folklore), and GT (Manners & Customs).
Top Database Recommendations
Abstracts in Anthropology (Sage) This link opens in a new window
Publication Dates: 2001 to present. A comprehensive, international abstract database covering a broad spectrum of significant, current scholarship in Cultural Anthropology, Physical Anthropology, Archaeology, and Linguistics .
Anthropology Plus (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
A compilation of Anthropological Index (Royal Anthropological Institute) and Anthropological Literature (Harvard University), this database is the world’s most comprehensive index covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research. It provides extensive indexing of journal articles, reports, and commentaries from the early 19th century to present.
Major Electronic Journal Collections
Annual Review of Anthropology
This journal, published since 1972, covers significant developments in the subfields of anthropology, including archaeology, biological anthropology, linguistics and communicative practices, regional studies and international anthropology, and sociocultural anthropology. Stay in Annual Review of Anthropology by clicking inside the top right search box to open up the "this journal" option.
EJC (OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center)
Contains full text of several hundred journals with an Anthropological emphasis. (Choose "Anthropology" under Filter by Subject menu for the list.) Use "Advanced Search" option for topic/subject searches. Will identify Top 15 Journals and Top 15 Subjects within a search set.
JSTOR Journals in Anthropology
Archival access to electronically available journals in Anthropology, usually up until the most recent three years of publication.
Need an Appointment?
During the academic year, Elys is typically available 8:30am - 6pm, M-F. Appointment requests can be made anytime using the Research Consultation Form.