Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Throughout this Guide are resources to get you started researching in the discipline of Archaeology. Depending on your topic, you may also find the Guides in Anthropology, Classical Studies, and History to be helpful. Further assistance is available at the Research Help Desk in the Gault Library, or by directly contacting the liaison librarian, Annie Dempsey
Browsing in Archaeology
The College of Wooster Libraries use the Library of Congress classification for print materials. Anthropology resources are most often found under Library of Congress call letters CB (History of Civilization), CC (Archaeology), CJ (Numismatics), CN (Inscriptions), as well as the broad Library of Congress History call letters D (European, Asian, African, and Oceanic History), and E-F (History of the Americas).
Top Database Recommendations
Anthropology Plus (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
A compilation of Anthropological Index (Royal Anthropological Institute) and Anthropological Literature (Harvard University), this database is the world’s most comprehensive index covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research. It provides extensive indexing of journal articles, reports, and commentaries from the early 19th century to present.
Abstracts in Anthropology (Sage) This link opens in a new window
Publication Dates: 2001 to present. A comprehensive, international abstract database covering a broad spectrum of significant, current scholarship in Cultural Anthropology, Physical Anthropology, Archaeology, and Linguistics .
AnthroSource (AAA) This link opens in a new window
AnthroSource provides access to 15 peer-reviewed journals published by the American Anthropological Association (AAA). Additionally it provides access to the archives of all journals published by the AAA.
JSTOR (ITHAKA) This link opens in a new window
JSTOR includes scholarship published in more than 1,500 of the highest-quality academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The content represents archives of the journal titles back to volume 1 but not including the most recent 3-5 years.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Includes books, journal articles, and conference proceedings from across all scientific disciplines and provides comprehensive citation searching. Also includes coverage articles in Social Sciences (1900-present) and Arts & Humanities (1975-present).
America: History & Life (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts sources on the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. (Ebsco)
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Indexes more than 1,000 periodicals published worldwide on architecture, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation.
Major Electronic Journal Collections
JSTOR Journals in Archaeology
Archival access to electronically available journals in Archaeology, usually up until the most recent three years of publication.
Need an Appointment?
During the academic year, Annie is typically available 8:00am - 5pm, Monday-Friday. Appointment requests can be made anytime by email or by using the Research Consultation Form