LibGuides: German Studies: Databases

Electronic Journals

OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center (EJC) (OhioLINK) This link opens in a new window
This service enables the user to search the current Ohiolink database of electronic journals, which currently includes a growing database of full text journals. It includes over 3000+ journals from such publishers as Academic Press, American Chemical Society, American Physical Society, Elsevier Science, Institute of Physics, Kluwer Academic Publishers, MCB University Press, Project MUSE (Johns Hopkins University Press), Royal Society of Chemistry, Springer-Verlag, Wiley. More publishers will be
JSTOR (ITHAKA) This link opens in a new window
JSTOR includes scholarship published in more than 1,500 of the highest-quality academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The content represents archives of the journal titles back to volume 1 but not including the most recent 3-5 years.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
A provider of digital humanities and social sciences content including electronic journals and electronic books. Wooster subscribes to many of the journals and has access to some of the electronic book collections.

Once you have a citation:

Follow the HTML or PDF link to the article full text in the database - then read, download, or print OR

Use the FIND IT button found in many of the databases AND/OR

Use the Journal Finder link on the Libraries home page and search by the name of the journal or magazine AND

If the journal is not available in print or online at Wooster, the article may be requested from another library through the ILL Portal AND/OR

Request assistance at the Research and Referral Desk in Andrews Library

Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchab

MLA International Bibliography (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Indexes the sources pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore in over 3,000 journals and series and in relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, and other formats. Updated quarterly.
Humanities International Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Includes all data from Humanities International Index.

Foreign Language Videos
A collection of foreign language video clips in which native speakers elaborate on a wide variety of topics about their culture, family, daily life, and more. Video clips are accompanied by contents notes, the country of the speaker, and additional grammar and vocabulary notes. The Russian language is included in the list of choices.

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles from 1975 to the present. It is a multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It indexes 1,144 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
indexes and provides abstract summaries to sources on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life). Over 2,000 journals published throughout the world are covered in the database.

Nineteenth Century Masterfile
indexes by keyword or titles from articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers published in the 19th century and very early 20th century. The indexing originated in a variety of historical print indexes.
PAIS International
Indexes articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, Internet sources, and statistical directories about subjects of interest to the public. Abstracts are included for most records from 1985 to the present. Each year, PAIS indexers review more than 8000 books and issues of more than 1600 periodicals. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed. PAIS international includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world.

German Folklore and Popular Culture: Das Kloster This link opens in a new window
Das Kloster is a collection of magical and occult texts, chapbooks, folklore, popular superstition and fairy tales of the German Renaissance compiled by Stuttgart antiquarian Johann Scheible, between 1845 and 1849. This collection provides additional volumes of unique perspectives on Central European culture and tradition.
Religion & Philosophy Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
"A comprehensive database covering such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy."

eBook Central
Provides electronic versions of books from academic and scholarly publishers. Requires the use of the ebrary Reader Software.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference enables users to find authoritative answers fast. It features content from hundreds of reference books in a broad range of subjects. There are over 270 titles consisting of an aggregate of 3.1 million entries all interconnected by over 100,000,000 links.

Email Me

Contact:

The College of Wooster Libraries
1140 Beall Ave.
Wooster OH 44691

(330) 263-2522

Subjects: Chinese, East Asia, Economics, Electronic Books, First Year Seminar, German, Global and International Studies, Government Information, Law, News, Open Access, Political Science, Reference, Russian Studies, South Asia, Urban Studies