Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost)
Publication Dates: 1887 to present. A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, including more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, and more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Provides indexing for more than 12,500 journals and more than 13,200 publications, including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.
American Periodicals Series (ProQuest)
Contains page images of more than 1,100 historic American magazines, journals, and newspapers. These resources illuminate the development of American culture, politics, and society across some 150 years. Articles can be searched by author, source, and words in the complete text. (1741-1900)
The collection is arranged in three series: 1741-1800, the period of transition from British colony to emerging nation; 1800-1850, pre-Civil War and the era of debate over slavery; and 1850-1900, Civil War and Reconstruction. Magazines of these periods cover the literature, science, religion, arts, and history of the time.
Electronic Journal Center (EJC) (OhioLINK)
This service enables the user to search the current Ohiolink database of electronic journals, which currently includes a growing database of full text journals. It includes over 3000+ journals from such publishers as Academic Press, American Chemical Society, American Physical Society, Elsevier Science, Institute of Physics, Kluwer Academic Publishers, MCB University Press, Project MUSE (Johns Hopkins University Press), Royal Society of Chemistry, Springer-Verlag, Wiley. More publishers will be added over time.
JSTOR includes scholarship published in more than 1,500 of the highest-quality academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The content represents archives of the journal titles back to volume 1 but not including the most recent 3-5 years.
Periodicals Archive Online (PAO) (Chadwyck-Healey)
A major online periodical archive of back files for periodicals in the humanities and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the full text of a growing number of digitized periodicals that have been indexed in its sister database, Periodicals Index Online. (1802 - 1995)
Currently, Periodicals Archive Online contains over 400 journals, providing access to over 7.8 million article pages - representing over 1.2 million articles.
Readers' Guide Retrospective, 1890-1982 (EBSCOhost)
Indexes both popular and general-interest magazines published in the United States. It indexes the same material as its' print counterpart, Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature for the same years.
General History Databases
America: History & Life (EBSCOhost)
The definitive index of literature on the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present, with indexing for 1,700 journals, from 1910 to present. Includes book and media reviews. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by international perspectives on topics and events, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCOhost)
1955 - Present
Historical Abstracts indexes and provides abstract summaries to sources on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life). Currently over 2,000 journals published throughout the world are covered in the database, making this a periodical database unmatched in breadth. In addition to including the key historical journals from virtually every major country, Historical Abstracts includes a targeted selection of hundreds of journals in the social sciences andhumanities that are of special interest to researchers and students ofhistory. In addition to articles, each year Historical Abstracts includes approximately 3,000 citations to useful historical books as reviewed by the most prestigious journals in the field and citations to abstractsof dissertations completed worldwide of particular interest for historical research.
Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest)
Full-text collection of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority, and press covering 1985-present. The search interface is offered in both English and Spanish.
FBIS (Foreign Broadcast Information Service) (Newsbank)
Indexes the "FBIS Daily Report" issued by the Foreign Broadcast Information Service of the U.S. government. These are translated transcripts of foreign radio and television broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements from around the world. The full text and indexing is available from 1949-1996.
Historical Newspapers (ProQuest)
Historical Newspapers contains the full-text of the following newspapers: The New York Times (1851-2005), Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003), Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005), The Los Angeles Times (1881-1987), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), Norfolk Journal and Guide (1921-2003), Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001), Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002), and The Chicago Defender (1910-1975), The American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger (1857-1922), The Jewish Advocate (1905-1990), The American Israelite (1854-2000), and the Jewish Exponent (1887-1990)..
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic)
A broad-based database and full text online search service that provides indexing and full text access to sources in news, business, legal research, and Reference.
Los Angeles Times Historical (ProQuest)
Full-text of the Los Angeles Times from 1881 to 1993.
New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers 1851-2016) (ProQuest)
Provides full-text access to The New York Daily Times (1851-1857) and The New York Times (1857-2016).
Newspaper Source (EBSCOhost)
Provides indexing, abstracts, and full text for 171 regional U.S. newspapers, 20 international newspapers, 15 newswires and newspaper columns, 24 TV and radio news transcripts, The Christian Science Monitor, The Los Angeles Times, and USA Today. Contains indexing and abstracts for four national newspapers, including The New York Times and The Wall Street Journal - Eastern Edition. coverage from 1995-present.
US Newsstream (Proquest)
Newspapers Expanded provides current coverage from major national newspapers including: The New York Times (1980-present), The Wall Street Journal (1984-present), Washington Post (1987-present), Los Angeles Times (1985-present), The Christian Science Monitor (1988-present), The Atlanta Journal Constitution (2001-present), The Boston Globe (1980-present), Seattle Post-Intelligencer (1990-present).
Full text access to 1300 newspapers, news websites and blogs from leading publishers worldwide, with recent backfiles. Includes major papers such as the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, Washington Post, USA Today, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, and The Guardian, as well as indexing for local and regional titles.
Times Digital Archive (Gale)
The Times Digital Archive is a full-image online archive of every page published by The Times [London] from 1785-2006. The text within the images is fully searchable at the article level. Users can easily search news articles, obituaries, advertising and classifieds - virtually everything that appeared in the newspaper. Results are displayed at the article level and users may view the article - or the full page upon which it appeared.
Times of India (Historical) (ProQuest)
Part of the ProQuest Historical Newspapers collection, this database provides full-text access to the Times of India covering 1838-2001.