LibGuides: Environmental Studies Subject Guide: Articles

Databases for Environmental Studies

Environment Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Covers the breadth of environmental topics, from agriculture and ecology to law and policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database that includes all areas of the natural sciences, as well as some coverage in social sciences as well as the arts and humanities.

Agricola (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
A publication of the National Agricultural Library of the US Department of Agriculture. Focuses heavily on topics in agriculture, food, and nutrition, plus related topics such as soil/water science and forestry.
BIOSIS Previews This link opens in a new window
A leading source of information in the life sciences. Topics covered include organismal, ecological, cellular and molecular biology.
GreenFILE (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database focused on the relationship between human beings and the environment. Covers impacts at the individual, organizational, and societal levels.
APA PsycINFO (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
A key resource for articles in behavioral science and mental health.
SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
The authoritative database for articles in sociology, including the interface between society and environment.
SciFinder-n (CAS) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A premier source for literature in chemistry, including environmental chemistry.

Google Scholar
Finds scholarly sources across the web. You may find different types of sources compared to traditional databases, but search tools are limited.
Internet Archive Scholar
Search the Internet Archive's vast collections to find scholarly articles that may no longer be openly accessible on the web.
RefSeek
Searches the web for academic pages or documents. RefSeek also provides a nice directory of online reference sources.

Web of Science This link opens in a new window Coverage: 1900-present Includes books, journal articles, and conference proceedings from across all scientific disciplines and provides comprehensive citation searching. Also includes coverage articles in Social Sciences (1900-present) and Arts & Humanities (1975-present).
Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window Publication Dates: 1887 to present. A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, including more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, and more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Provides indexing for more than 12,500 journals and more than 13,200 publications, including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.
JSTOR (ITHAKA) This link opens in a new window JSTOR includes scholarship published in more than 1,500 of the highest-quality academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The content represents archives of the journal titles back to volume 1 but not including the most recent 3-5 years.