LibGuides: Neuroscience Subject Guide: Articles

Neuroscience Databases

PsycINFO
Indexes journals in psychology and related disciplines. Most useful for finding articles on the behavioral, cognitive, and theoretical dimensions of neuroscience.

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Includes books, journal articles, and conference proceedings from across all scientific disciplines and provides comprehensive citation searching.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive database for biomedical articles, including clinical and applied neuroscience.

F1000 Prime
F1000Prime's raters select the most important articles in their field. You can set up recommendation alerts and find reports that provide context on emerging themes in biology and medicine.

MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
The National Library of Medicine's online database. Note: The MEDLINE database can also be searched via SciFinder and PubMed.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
A full-text collection of scholarly journal articles in psychology and related disciplines such as psychiatry and anthropology.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature. Covers many biomedical journals not in PubMed.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Large full-text database - covering journals published by Elsevier. Use in concert with other resources.

SciFinder-n (CAS) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes chemical properties, commercial sources, and regulatory information in addition to research articles. Useful for investigating topics in chemical neuroscience. Note: you will need to register for an account to use SciFinder.

History of Science, Technology, and Medicine
Indexes journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of science, technology, and medicine and allied historical fields.
NCBI Databases
The National Center for Biotechnology Information provides access to a wealth of databases for finding genetic, genomic, protein, and chemical data.

Looking for a specific journal? Find it with Journal Finder.

Need help locating full-text articles? Click here for help, or email
the science librarian.

Academic Search Complete
Provides full text for nearly 5,300 journals in a variety of disciplines, including more than 4,400 peer-reviewed titles.
JSTOR
Holds digitized back-runs of journals in multiple fields, but typically doesn't include the most recent 3-5 years.
OhioLINK EJC
Search for full-text articles available via OhioLINK.

Google Scholar
Finds scholarly sources across the web. You may find different types of sources compared to traditional databases, but search tools are limited.
Internet Archive Scholar
Search the Internet Archive's vast collections to find scholarly articles that may no longer be openly accessible on the web.
RefSeek
Searches the web for academic pages or documents. RefSeek also provides a nice directory of online reference sources.