Skip to Main Content

Philosophy

Resources for your philosophy research

Online Starters - Reference Works and Review Journals

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Started in 1995, this continuously updated free to use online encyclopedia is an excellent starting place to get broad knowledge on a topic in philosophy.
Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
An online peer-reviewed source for detailed reference articles on philosophical topics.
Philosophy Compass
A journal publishing peer-reviewed review articles on various topics in contemporary philosophy.

Oxford Bibliography of Philosophy (Oxford) This link opens in a new window
Brief reviews of topics with references to high quality further reading.

The Bloomsbury Encyclopedia of Philosophers in America by John R. Shook (Editor, Editor)
ISBN: 9781472570550
Publication Date: 2016-02-11
Contains 450 biographical essays on American philosophers.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
This is a more general academic reference work, useful for an introduction to many subjects.

Handbook of African Philosophy by Elvis Imafidon, Mpho Tshivhase, Björn Freter
ISBN: 9783031251498
A broad overview of African philosophy, segmented into topical overviews.

Physical Reference Works

Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Call Number: B51 .R68 1998
Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Call Number: B41 .E5
The Oxford Encyclopedia of African Thought by F. Abiola Irele (Editor); Biodun Jeyifo (Editor)
Call Number: DT14 .I74 2010
Encyclopedia of Aesthetics by Michael Kelly (Editor)
Call Number: BH56 .E53 1998
Encyclopedia of Environmental Ethics and Philosophy by J. Baird Callicott; Robert Frodeman
Call Number: GE42 .E533 2009

Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy
Call Number: B41 .B53 1994
Historical Dictionary of Feminist Philosophy
Call Number: HQ1190 .G36 2006
Dictionary of Philosophy of Religion
Call Number: BL51 .D514 2010
ISBN: 9781441111975

The Oxford Handbook of Philosophy and Literature
Call Number: PN45 .O84 2009
The Oxford Handbook of Philosophy of Economics
Call Number: HB72 .O95 2009
The Oxford Handbook of Philosophy of Emotion
Call Number: B105.E46 O94 2010
The Oxford Handbook of Philosophy of Religion
Call Number: BL51 .O94 2005