Useful Links
- Ask A LibrarianNeed help fast? Click here to chat with the Research Help Desk - or to contact a library staff member.
- Journal FinderFind Wooster's print and electronic journals with this simple search.
- Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad)Need an article we don't own? Request through ILL! Registration required.
- Citing SourcesProvides links to resources about citing sources.
Finding journals in the library
Once you have a citation:
Follow the HTML or PDF link to the article full text in the database - then read, download, or print OR
Use the FIND IT button found in many of the databases AND/OR
Use the Ejournal/Journal link on the libraries home page and search by the name of the journal or magazine AND
If the journal is not available in print on online at Wooster, the article may be requested from another library through Illiad AND/OR
Request assistance at the Reference Desk
Computer Science Quicklinks
All Computer Science Databases
- Academic Search CompleteLarge general database of articles from scholarly journals, newspapers and magazines covering a wide range of topics.
- ACM Digital Library1985 - present
This is a full-text collection of every article published by the Association for Computing Machinery, including 50 years of archives. The collection includes journals, magazines, transactions, proceedings, newsletters, publications of special interest groups, and publications of affiliated organizations. - ArticleFirst1990 - present
Indexes nearly 12,500 journals in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities and popular culture. Updated daily. Coverage is from 1990 to the present. - arXivCollection of preprints to large numbers of research papers from all areas of physics, math, computer science and related areas (1991-present).
- CiteSeerFocuses primarily on the literature in computer and information science. Attempts to provide resources such as algorithms, data, metadata, services, techniques, and software that can be used to promote other digital libraries.
- CompendexCompendex is a comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database, the electronic equivalent of the print Engineering INdex. Compendex covers the entire spectrum of engineering, in depth, with abstracts from over 2,600 international journals, conference papers and proceedings, and technical reports.
- Computer and Applied Sciences CompleteCovers the spectrum of the applied sciences, including many engineering disciplines, computer theory, and new technologies.
- DBLP Computer Science Bibliography
- InspecIndexes journals and conference proceedings, primarily from physics, computer science, and electrical engineering. Also includes some physical chemistry (1898-present).
- MathSciNetMaintained by the American Mathematical Society. Includes reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature.
- Safari Tech Books OnlineProvides full-text access to books in science, technology and medicine from the premier information technology publishers O’Reilly & Associates, Inc. and the Pearson Technology Group. Individual titles are listed in the CONSORT catalog.
- ScopusScopus is an abstract and citation database containing both peer-reviewed research literature and quality web sources. With over 18,000 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers, Scopus offers researchers resources to support their research needs in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields and, more recently, also in the arts and humanities.
- Web of ScienceBroad scientific database. Includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index which can be searched together or separately.
Computer Science Periodicals
Scholarly journals are usually considered the most important primary source of information in the sciences. The three major functions of scientific communication are establishing intellectual property, evaluating work through the peer-review process, and serving as a vehicle for disseminating information.
- The ACM Digital Library
- This is a full-text collection of every article published by the Association for Computing Machinery, including 50 years of archives. The collection includes journals, magazines, transactions, proceedings, newsletters, publications of special interest groups, and publications of affiliated organizations.
Other journals and magazines of interest to computer science students include:
AI Magazine WOO
Science Periodicals Q334.A5
American Scientist WOO
Science Periodicals Q1.A54 and online
Computer WOO
Science Periodicals TK7885.A1I5
Discover WOO
Science Periodicals Q1.D57 and online
IEEE Transactions on Computers WOO
Science Periodicals TK7885.A1.I2
IEEE Transactions on Neural Networks WOO
Science Periodicals QA 76.6.I33
IEEE Transactions on Software Engineering WOO
Science Periodicals QA 76.6.I17
MacWorld WOO
Science Periodicals QA76.8.M3 M3 (Current three years)
and online
New Scientist WOO
Science Periodicals Q1.N52 and online
PC Magazine WOO
Science Periodicals QA76.8.I1015 P38 (Current five years)
and online
Scientific American WOO
Science Periodicals T1.55 and online
Science Librarian |
Links: Profile & Guides |


Loading...
