Skip to main content
Free and Open Media
Search this Guide
Free and Open Media: Home
Find images, music, and more content that's marked for free reuse.
Stock photography that's free for reuse. In newspaper publishing, a "morgue file" is a place to keep post production materials for reference.
Includes a large collection of images, in addition to smaller collections of video and sound.
On the search results screen, click on "Search Tools" to see the options for filtering by usage rights.
Use the menu underneath "Any license" to choose from Creative Commons-licensed images.
Congressional Pictorial Directory
A compilation of color photographs of every member of congress. As a US government work, it is free from copyright restrictions.
Provides podcast- and video-ready music with tag searching to help you find the genres, instruments, or feel you're looking for.
Free Music Archive
Search and browse in multiple genres.
A curated collection of music in primarily electronic genres.
As the name implies, iBeat focuses on hip hop beats and drum loops. All music is free to use.
Recordings of public domain musical compositions. You'll find mostly classical music here.
Sound Effects, Speech, and Interviews
Huge database of sound effects, samples, and other short audio clips that are licensed using Creative Commons.
Presidential Speech Archive
Access audio and video recordings of official presidential speeches from Harding to Obama.
Access the secretly recorded private conversations of presidents Roosevelt, Truman, Eisenhower, Kennedy, Johnson, and Nixon. Transcripts are fully searchable for Kennedy, Johnson, and Nixon.
Free audio recordings of public domain books. Authors include Mark Twain, Charles Darwin, and Thomas Jefferson.
Copyright, Fair Use, and Creative Commons
Fair Use Overview
YouTube Copyright Center
Best Practices for Fair Use in Online Video
About Creative Commons Licenses
Aug 28, 2018 11:14 AM
Login to LibApps