LibGuides: Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Subject Guide: Reference

Dictionaries

Subject-specific dictionaries provide specialized definitions in a particular area. Just a few of our many encyclopedias appropriate for BCMB are listed below.

Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology More than 17,000 entries give details of biochemical substances and the processes in which they are involved, define methods and concepts in molecular biology, and give definitions of biochemical symbols and abbreviations. Alternative names for biochemical compounds are listed. Entries also include the structures and activities of chemical compounds of interest to biochemists. More than 2000 protein and enzyme entries describe the functions they perform and reactions they catalyze.
Call Number: e-book (click to connect)
Dictionary of Bioinformatics and Computational Biology This dictionary provides undergraduate and postgraduate students with clear definitions of the fundamental concepts of bioinformatics and computational biology.
Call Number: QH324.2 .D53 2004 (Science Reference)
Dictionary of DNA and Genome Technology This dictionary provides current detailed information on the terms, techniques, tests and commercial systems used in the field.
Call Number: QH442 .S548 2008 (Science Reference)

Encylopedias

Encyclopedia of Genetics, Genomics, Proteomics and Bioinformatics This eight-volume encyclopedia provides a multidisciplinary approach to the rapidly expanding fields of genomics, proteomics and bioinformatics.
Call Number: QH431 .E62 (Science Reference)

Data & Statistics

Data Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Provides a single point of access to research data, including data sets, tables and figures, and published studies, from repositories across disciplines and around the world.

Data-Planet Statistical Datasets
Access statistical datasets from a wide variety of organizations and agencies. This is the advanced interface, where you can dig deep to create your own unique charts and graphs or download the full datasets.

Handbooks and Manuals

Handbooks and manuals provide current examples of protocols and techniques. Some use step-by-step examples and/or ready reference information.

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics Provides the latest and most accurate ready-reference information for the chemical and physical sciences. Includes basic constants, units and conversion factors, data on the physical constants of organic and inorganic compounds, fluid properties, properties of solids and much more. A general index facilitates access to required data.
Call Number: QD65 .H3 (Science Reserve)
Current Protocols in Molecular Biology A continuously evolving loose-leaf handbook of laboratory protocols from molecular biology. Updated quarterly.
Call Number: QH506 .C87 (Science Reference)
Current Protocols in Bioinformatics This reference provides insight into the types of data and protocols required to perform basic tasks in bioinformatics. Each chapter covers a general subject area and contains protocols which provide information on resources, steps and annotations, data interpretations, and commentaries on the method.
Call Number: QH441.2 .C876 (Science Reference)
Current Protocols Essential Laboratory Techniques The primary aim of this reference is to explain the chemical and physical principles underlying molecular research techniques. It supplements the Current Protocols Series, including chapters on weighing and measuring volumes, spectroscopy, reagent preparation, growing bacterial and animal cells and many more fundamental techniques. It also includes appendices on how to keep a lab notebook and how to prepare and present a poster and Power Point presentation.
Call Number: RB36 .C87 (Science Reference)
Culture of Animal Cells: A Manual of Basic Technique Focuses on providing the basic techniques of cell and tissue culture in step-by-step protocols.
Call Number: QH585.2 .F74 (Science Reference)

Interim Librarian

Zach Sharrow

he/him/his

Email Me

Contact:

Office: Andrews Library 148

Phone: (330)-263-2483

Subjects: Art, First Year Seminar, Neuroscience, Open Access, Psychology, Reference