Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Plant and Animal Websites
Includes information about more than 6,000 amphibian species, including species accounts, distribution maps, literature references, sound files and photographs.
Araport (Arabidopsis Information Portal)
Araport is a one-stop-shop for Arabidopsis thaliana genomics.
Birds of North America
Provides comprehensive life histories for each of the 716+ species of birds breeding in the USA (including Hawaii) and Canada.
Butterflies and Moths of North America
This site provides a searchable database of butterflies and moths in the U.S. and Mexico. It includes distribution maps, photographs, species accounts and species checklists.
Native Plant Information Network
The Native Plant Information Network includes a series of databases with features that are especially useful for those interested in the cultivation and preservation of native plants.
The Chile Pepper Institute
A directory of links and information about chile peppers, hosted by New Mexico State University.
Provides photos, videos, audio, and general information on cetacean species (whales, dolphins, and porpoises).
A comprehensive compendium of reviews that presents the current state of knowledge of the molecular biology, cellular biology, and genetics of the S. cerevisiae.
Government Information Sources
A comprehensive web portal to government publications, agencies, and other information sources. Search or browse by topic.
Integrated Taxonomic Information System (ITIS)
This site provides access to a database of information on species names and their hierarchical classification. The entry for each scientific name includes the authority (author and date), taxonomic rank, associated synonyms and common names, a unique taxonomic serial number, data source information (publications, experts, etc.) and data quality indicators.
PLANTS National Database
Produced by the Natural Resources Conservation Division of the United States Department of Agriculture, this database “provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.”
Smithsonian Ocean Portal
Covers a variety of general-interest topics related to "everything ocean," including organisms, ecology, conservation, and even research groups.
Data & Statistics
Data Citation Index
Provides a single point of access to research data, including data sets, tables and figures, and published studies, from repositories across disciplines and around the world.
Data-Planet Ready Reference
Find charts and graphs illustrating statistical trends drawn from a huge array of sources, including the CDC and the EPA.
Data-Planet Statistical Datasets
Access statistical datasets from a wide variety of organizations and agencies. This is the advanced interface, where you can dig deep to create your own unique charts and graphs or download the full datasets.
Other Useful Websites
A searchable database of open-access, peer-reviewed protocols in biology.
This site contains more than 50,000 searchable text pages and 40,000 images of Darwin’s publications and handwritten manuscripts. It also includes an extensive bibliography, manuscript catalogue and ancillary texts. Both the fully formatted electronic text and images of the original documents are provided and can be viewed side-by-side.
Freshwater Biodiversity Atlas
A collection of published and open access freshwater biodiversity maps and geographical information. Offers dynamic online maps accompanied by short articles with background information and provides links to publications and data sources.