Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Top Database Recommendations
THE primary database in Sociology, covering the broad spectrum of sociological study, including anthropology, criminology, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, politics, religion, educational sociology, and social psychology. Publications from 1895 to present.
Sociological Collection (EBSCOhost)
Indexed collection of more than 500 peer-reviewed journals in sociology, including the areas of social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure. Publications from 1970 to present.
Web of Science (Thomson Reuters)
A multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the sciences, including the Social Sciences. The Core Collection covers over 2,900 journals across 50 social sciences disciplines. Features cited reference searching. Publications from 1900-present.
Related Database Recommendations
NCJRS (National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts) Database
Contains summaries of more than 140,000 publications on criminal justice, including federal, state, and local government reports; books; research reports; journal articles; and unpublished research. Subject areas include corrections, courts, drugs and crime, law enforcement, juvenile justice, crime statistics, and victims of crime.
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) International
The best place for finding material on public policy at all levels, international to local. Indexes articles, books, conference proceedings and other formats in English and in major European languages. (Proquest)
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
The world's largest full text psychology database, offering full text coverage for nearly 400 journals. Includes topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. (Ebsco)
Surveys, Polls & Datasets
Full text of Gallup Poll Monthly (1996-2002), Gallup Poll Tuesday Briefing (2002-2005), and Gallup Poll Briefing (2006 - present)
General Social Survey (1972 to present)
Survey of adults (18+ year olds) residing in the United States conducted by the National Opinion Research Center (NORC) at The University of Chicago. It contains a standard "core" of demographic, behavioral, and attitudinal questions, plus topics of special interest. Except for the U.S. Census, the GSS is the most frequently analyzed source of information in the social sciences.