MUSC 140 / 240 / 401 / 451 - Voice and Opera - De Lapp-Culver: Selected Internet Sites

This is "a collection of information about opera and operatic arias.

Besides providing basic information about each aria, the Database includes translations for many arias and aria texts for those that are not affected by copyright restrictions. The Database also provides access to a collection of operatic sound files to give visitors an idea of what each aria sounds like. In addition, the Aria Database contains information on available scores and sound files that can be purchased to aid in study and enjoyment." [quoted from the site]

This is not scholarly, but useful to those planning for a career in performance.

Contains both public domain and copyright protected material.

Contains "...detailed information on many operas, including: Libretti, Synopses, Source Texts, Discographies, Performance Histories, Rôle Creators, ... pointers to other opera information sites, " and more. [quoted from the site]

Podcasts about specific recordings of pieces.

"ChoralNet is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization whose purpose is to be a central portal to online resources and communications for the global choral music community." quoted from the site 2/15/2010

News, recordings database, opera houses and festival listings, performance and artist searches.

This association's mission "is to advance music education by encouraging the study and making of music by all." The web site includes information on genre discussion and chat groups, research information, etc.