Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
SciFinder-n (CAS) This link opens in a new window
A key source of chemical information. Search for articles, substances, and reactions using a variety of powerful tools. Includes chemical properties, commercial sources, and regulatory information in addition to research articles. Note
: You must register for an account
in order to use SciFinder.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Includes books, journal articles, and conference proceedings from across all scientific disciplines and provides comprehensive citation searching. Also includes coverage articles in Social Sciences (1900-present) and Arts & Humanities (1975-present).
An open access database of chemical structures, names, properties, information sources, and other data. Also links to premade searches on Google Scholar and PubMed.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive database for biomedical sciences. Coverage of chemical literature is focused on bioactivity, pharmacology, and toxicology. The MEDLINE database, which makes up the bulk of PubMed, is also searchable in SciFinder.
INSPEC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals and conference proceedings, primarily from physics, computer science, and electrical engineering. Also includes some physical chemistry.
GeoRef (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
GeoRef is the definitive database in the geosciences. Includes coverage of atmospheric chemistry and geochemistry.
Use a simple interface to find chemical information, including structures, identifiers, properties, biological activity, and other data. Information is shared with ChemSpider.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Large full-text database - covering journals published by Elsevier. Use in concert with other resources.
Academic Search Complete
Provides full text for nearly 5,300 journals in a variety of disciplines, including more than 4,400 peer-reviewed titles.
Holds digitized back-runs of journals in multiple fields, but typically doesn't include the most recent 3-5 years.
Search for full-text articles available via OhioLINK.
Academic Web Search Engines
Finds scholarly sources across the web. You may find different types of sources compared to traditional databases, but search tools are limited.
Internet Archive Scholar
Search the Internet Archive's vast collections to find scholarly articles that may no longer be openly accessible on the web.