Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Chemistry Reference Sources
Handbooks and manuals provide current examples of protocols and techniques. Some use step-by-step examples and/or ready reference information.
ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication
Online resource that serves as the new ACS Style Guide. Use for finding out how to format references, tables, figures, and other publishing details for chemical information. (Section 4 for reference information)
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
Call Number: QD65 .H3 (Science Reserve)
Provides the latest and most accurate ready-reference information for the chemical and physical sciences. Includes basic constants, units and conversion factors, data on the physical constants of organic and inorganic compounds, fluid properties, properties of solids and much more. A general index facilitates access to required data.
CRC Handbook of Laboratory Safety
Call Number: QD51 .C73 1995 (Science Reference)
This comprehensive handbook provides detailed information on all aspects of laboratory safety, such as emergency preparedness, facilties design and equipment, laboratory operations (including handling and use of chemicals), health considerations, handling spills and chemical wastes, and personal protection equipment.
Lange’s Handbook of Chemistry
Call Number: QD65 .L36 2005 (Science Reference)
General purpose reference tool that provides access to chemical and physical data used in both the laboratory and manufacturing. Includes frequently used constants as well as sections on atomic and molecular structure, analytical chemistry, electrochemistry, spectroscopy, and thermodynamic properties.
Handbook of Thin-Layer Chromatography
Call Number: QD79 .C46 H36 2003 (Science Reference)
This volume is a practical and comprehensive handbook that explains the theories and general practices of thin-film chromatography as well as applications mainly based on compound types. It also includes an extensive glossary and a directory of manufacturers and suppliers of plates, equipment and instruments for thin-layer chromatography.
Dean’s Handbook of Organic Chemistry
Call Number: QD251.3 .G65 2004 (Science Reference)
In addition to data tables, this reference contains figures, structures, discussion of methods and illustrations of data.
Comprehensive Handbook of Chemical Bond Energies
Call Number: QD461 .L86 2007 (Science Reference)
This handbook compiles experimental BDE data for more than 19,600 bonds and 102 elements. Organized by bond type, functional group, bond order, bond degree, molecular size, and structure, the book presents data for organics, biochemicals, and radicals as well as clusters, ions, hydrogen- and surface-bonded species, Van der Waals complexes, and halogen clusters/complexes.
Inorganic Materials Chemistry Desk Reference
Call Number: TP200 .S26 2005 (Science Reference)
This book is a resource for assisting in the preparation of solid state inorganic materials by chemical processing techniques. It includes an introduction to inorganic materials chemistry, a section on definition of terms, and chapters on physical properties of materials precursors and solid state inorganic materials.
Handbook of Solvents
Call Number: TP247.5 .H35 2001 (Science Reference)
This book is intended to provide a better understanding of the principles involved in solvent solution and use by providing information that will help to identify the risks and benefits associated with specific solvents and classes of solvents.
These sources help introduce to you a topic before you begin more in-depth research.
Hawley’s Condensed Chemical Dictionary
Call Number: QD5 .C5 2007 (Science Reference)
This compendium presents “descriptions of chemicals, raw materials, processes and equipment; expanded definitions of chemical entities, phenomena, and terminology; and descriptions or identifications of a wide range of trademarked products used in the chemical industries.”
The Vocabulary and Concepts of Organic Chemistry
Call Number: QD291 .V63 2005 (Science Reference)
The purpose of this book is to identify the vocabulary and concepts of organic chemistry, providing descriptions and examples. It is arranged by subject so that related terms appear together.
Encyclopedia of Spectroscopy
Call Number: QC450.3 .P47 1995 (Science Reference)
Provides an overview of the field of spectroscopy including citations to sources of additional information.
Macmillan Encyclopedia of Chemistry
Call Number: QD4 .M33 1997 (Science Reference)
This four-volume encyclopedia contains nearly 700 articles on topics in chemistry and its subdisciplines, including biographical entries and entries on common substances.
Encyclopedia of Chromatography
Call Number: QD79 .C4 E63 (Science Reference)
This is a source of information on chromatographic techniques and methodologies.
Encyclopedia of Chemical Physics and Physical Chemistry
Call Number: QD451 .E539 2001 (Science Reference)
This three-volume encyclopedia provides “a synopsis of the fundamentals and an overview of the range of activities in which physical principles are applied to chemical problems.” Volume 1 – Fundamentals; Volume 2 – Methods; Volume 3 – Applications
Inorganic Reactions and Methods
Call Number: QD501 .I623 1986 (Science Reference)
This series describes inorganic reaction chemistry, focusing on the formation of bonds.
Encyclopedia of Supramolecular Chemistry
Call Number: QD876 .E53 2004 (Science Reference)
This two-volume encyclopedia provides a broad-based overview of supramolecular chemistry and captures the significance of research in this area, with special emphasis on a synthesis of the concepts and language of supramolecular chemistry across a wide range of related disciplines.
This site provides links to National Library of Medicine and other Internet-accessible databases containing information on substances.
Elemental Data Index
Clicking from an element symbol in the periodic table on the home page of this site takes the user to information about the element, including atomic weight, ionization energy, ground state level and ground state configuration. In addition, links are provided to databases that contain data on atomic spectra, ionization data, X-ray and gamma-ray data, nuclear physics and much more.
Fundamental Physical Constants from NIST
This site offers researchers the capability to search for values by name or to display lists or tables by category.
IUPAC Compendium of Chemical Terminology (The Gold Book)
This browsable, searchable, interactive version of The Gold Book provides standardized definitions of the terminology used to describe chemical concepts. It provides both alphabetical and thematic indexes as well as an extensive listing of IUPAC source publications. Each entry contains interactive maps of broader and narrower terms.
Knovel Critical Tables
This searchable, interactive electronic handbook contains tables of physical, solvent and thermodynamic properties of inorganic and organic compounds. It is accessible by title search from the CONSORT catalog. Take a few moments to view the useful instructional tutorial.
NIST Chemistry WebBook
This June 2005 release of the NIST Standard Reference Database Number 69 contains high-quality, reliable information. Coverage includes thermochemistry data, enthalpy of reaction, infrared spectra, mass spectra, ion energetics data and more. Data can be searched by name, chemical formula, registry number, molecular weight, ionization energy or proton affinity.
NIST Data Gateway: Property Search
This search from provides links to NIST databases that contain a wide variety of property data.
Reddy’s Forensic Page
This site is a valuable starting point for locating information relating to forensic science on the Web.
SDBS: Spectral Data Base System for Organic Compounds
SDBS, sponsored by the National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology, is an integrated spectral database system for organic compounds, which includes six different types of spectra under a directory database of the compounds.
Smithsonian Physical Tables
This searchable electronic handbook contains more than 900 tables in PDF format with data of general interest to scientists and engineers, particularly physicists. It is accessible by title search from the CONSORT catalog.
International Critical Tables of Numerical Data, Physics, Chemistry and Technology
Originally published in seven volumes, this classic reference contains critical data on inorganic and organic compounds as well as pure substances. It is accessible by title from the CONSORT catalog. Take a few moments to view the useful instructional tutorial.