Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
General Purpose Data Sources in the Social Sciences
Draws on US government data to create digestible summaries and interactive graphics related to population, employment, education, and healthcare.
Historical Statistics of the United States
Includes public data such as population, labor, education, etc. from colonial times to the late 20th century.
The Interuniversity Consortium for Political and Social Research is a clearinghouse of data sets from public and private research. Note:
ICPSR datasets can also be found using Data Citation Index.
Basic data from the U.S. Census Bureau
U. S. Census Bureau
The full Census Bureau website. Some features of interest include customized maps and current population projections.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Provides statistical data and information for markets, industries, and society. Includes many infographics to accompany the data, the source for the data, Includes market reports, Statista reports, and company dossiers.
Data Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Publication dates: 1900-present.
Provides a single point of access to research data, including data sets, tables and figures, and published studies, from repositories across disciplines and around the world.
Google Dataset Search
An experimental tool from Google that allows you to search for publicly available data sets.
An initiative to implement ICPSR tools in a non-curated repository open to all.
Communication Sciences and Disorders
Maintains speech corpora for multiple subfields of communication sciences, including adult and child clinical corpora, multilingualism, and more.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Provides business information, including financial reports, company news and securities data, including company data and annual reports for both U.S. and international companies. U.S. company data includes SEC (EDGAR) filings. Also includes historical time series of economic indicators and the D & B 20 Million Plus Private Company Search, as well as historical stock prices.
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
Access data on productivity, employment & unemployment, pay & benefits, inflation, prices, spending, and more.
ValueLine Investment Survey
Access professional research and recommendations on approximately 1,700 stocks.
World Bank Databank
Collects statistics on international development, education, health and nutrition, and other topics. Note:
World Bank data is also available in Data-Planet Statistical Datasets
Quorum Federal This link opens in a new window
Advanced social media monitoring combined with a comprehensive database of legislative information. Covers issues and activity by Members of Congress in their bills, tweets, Facebook posts, YouTube videos, press releases, floor statements, emails to constituents, and more.