Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
General Purpose Data Sources in the Natural Sciences
Data Citation Index
Publication dates: 1900-present.
Provides a single point of access to research data, including data sets, tables and figures, and published studies, from repositories across disciplines and around the world.
Google Dataset Search
An experimental tool from Google that allows you to search for publicly available data sets.
Nature: Recommended Data Repositories
A list of major, reputable data repositories, including many specialized sources not listed here. Focuses on biomedical and physical sciences, but also includes social sciences.
Biology, Chemistry, and Medicine
NIH Data Sharing Repositories
A full listing of data repositories maintained by the National Institutes of Health. Topics covered include genetics/genomics, proteomics, pathology, immunology, lifespan development, and neuroscience.
National Children's Study Archive
Provides access to data from the National Children's study (2009-2014), which collected environmental quality data as well as health and developmental information for over 12,000 children.
In addition to chemical literature, SciFinder includes data on chemical properties, spectra, and other reference information.
Earth Science and Environmental Studies
Features statistical data sets created from government and non-government organizations, including topics such as agriculture, energy, and the environment. Built-in visualization options allow you to create your own charts, graphs, and maps.
Neuroscience Information Framework
The largest searchable collection of neuroscience data on the web. Also includes educational tools, funding information, and other information sources.
A curated inventory of digitally reconstructed neurons associated with peer-reviewed publications.
Openly available MRI data sets.
A public repository of unthresholded statistical maps, parcellations, and atlases of the human brain.