Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Throughout this Guide are resources to get you started researching in the areas of English and Literature studies. Depending on your topic, you may also find the Guides in Classical Studies, Communication Studies, Digital Media, History, Religious Studies, and specific world languages to be helpful.
Further assistance is available at the Research Help Desk in Gault Library, or by directly contacting the English and Literature liaison librarian, Allie Joyner.
Quick Library Links
Some quick links to get you connected with important library resources!
From the Collection
The English Handbook by
Call Number: PS25 .W485 2010
"The English Handbook: A Guide to Literary Studies is a comprehensive textbook, providing essential practical and analytical reading and writing skills for literature students at all levels. With advice and information on fundamental methods of literary analysis and research, Whitla equips students with the knowledge and tools essential for advanced literary study." - Provided by Publisher
Top General Literature Database Recommendations
Contemporary Literary Criticism (Gale/Cengage)
Each volume profiles influential writers via excerpted passages from selected criticism.
Dictionary of Literary Biography (Gale/Cengage)
Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online provides authoritative information while placing writers in the larger perspective of literary history. Signed essays written by scholars provide essential context for understanding the careers and writings of more than 12,000 authors from all time periods and from all parts of the world.
Gale Literary Index (Gale)
Gale Literary Index is a master index to the major literature series published by The Gale Group. It combines and cross references more than 130,000 author names, including pseudonyms and variant names, and more than 140,000 titles into one source. It provides quick and easy access to 40 of Gale Group's literary series. These series contain complete biographies on authors and critical essays on their writings.
Humanities International Complete (EBSCOhost)
Humanities International Complete provides full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources on all aspects of the humanities worldwide, including more than 2,300 journals and more than 2.9 million records. Features unique full-text content, much of which is not found in other databases.
Literary Reference Center (EBSCOhost)
Literary Reference Center is a full-text database that combines information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing.
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCOhost)
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the MLA International Bibliography is the definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film, covering scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present. International in scope, it includes citations to journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations, with links to full text.
Need an Appointment?
During the academic year, Allie is typically available 9:00am - 4:00pm Monday, Tuesday, and Thursday. Appointment requests can be made anytime by email or by using the Research Consultation Form.