LibGuides: Physics Subject Guide: Articles

Physics and Astronomy Databases

INSPEC (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Includes scientific and technical journals and conference proceedings in physics and other disciplines from 1898 to the present.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1900-present
Includes books, journal articles, and conference proceedings from across all scientific disciplines and provides comprehensive citation searching. Also includes coverage articles in Social Sciences (1900-present) and Arts & Humanities (1975-present).

arXiv
Houses pre-publication copies of papers in many disciplines, including physics, astronomy, mathematics, computer science, and statistics.
SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System
A digital catalog for physics and astronomy articles. Covers topics in astronomy and astrophysics, as well as physics more generally.

SciFinder-n (CAS) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A key source of chemical information. Includes articles in physical chemistry and data on the physical properties of chemical compounds. Note: You must register for an account in order to use SciFinder.
GeoRef (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
As the name implies, this database focuses on journals and reports in geology, which includes geophysics and atmospheric physics.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Indexes materials covering all aspects of sport, including the physics of sport and human biomechanics.

Looking for a specific journal? Find it with Journal Finder.

Need help locating full-text articles? Click here for help, or email
the science librarian.

Web of Science This link opens in a new window Coverage: 1900-present Includes books, journal articles, and conference proceedings from across all scientific disciplines and provides comprehensive citation searching. Also includes coverage articles in Social Sciences (1900-present) and Arts & Humanities (1975-present).
Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window Publication Dates: 1887 to present. A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, including more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, and more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Provides indexing for more than 12,500 journals and more than 13,200 publications, including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.
JSTOR (ITHAKA) This link opens in a new window JSTOR includes scholarship published in more than 1,500 of the highest-quality academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The content represents archives of the journal titles back to volume 1 but not including the most recent 3-5 years.

Google Scholar
Finds scholarly sources across the web. You may find different types of sources compared to traditional databases, but search tools are limited.
Internet Archive Scholar
Search the Internet Archive's vast collections to find scholarly articles that may no longer be openly accessible on the web.
RefSeek
Searches the web for academic pages or documents. RefSeek also provides a nice directory of online reference sources.