LibGuides: Physics Subject Guide: Reference

Physics Reference Sources

AccessScience: McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology Online (McGraw-Hill) This link opens in a new window
This electronic version of McGraw-Hill's Encyclopedia of Science and Technology covers a vast range of topics.

Encyclopedia of Physical Science and Technology
Call Number: Q123 .E497 2002 (Science Reference)
The purpose of this 18-volume encyclopedia is to provide university and professional level coverage of every facet of the physical sciences and technology.
Encyclopedia of Nonlinear Science
Call Number: QA427 .E53 2005 (Science Reference)
The primary aim of this encyclopedia is to provide a source from which undergraduate and graduate students in the physical and biological sciences can study how concepts of nonlinear science are presently understood and applied.
Encyclopedia of Applied Physics
Call Number: QC5 .E543 1991 (Science Reference)
Contains comprehensive information on applied physics and related disciplines and includes articles on areas of physics that already have a technical application as well as those that will be applicable in the future.
Concise Encyclopedia of Magnetic and Superconducting Materials
Call Number: QC764.52 .C66 2005 (Science Reference)
This encyclopedia contains articles that cover major aspects of the science and technology of magnetic and superconducting materials.
Scattering: Scattering and Inverse Scattering in Pure and Applied Science
Call Number: QC794.6 .S3S25 2002 (Science Reference)
This two-volume set provides a comprehensive treatment of all the various features of scattering.
Encyclopedia of Chemical Physics and Physical Chemistry
Call Number: QD451 .E539 2001 (Science Reference)
This three-volume encyclopedia provides a synopsis of the fundamentals and an overview of the range of activities in which physical principles are applied to chemical problems. Volume 1 “Fundamentals” covers the mechanics of atoms and molecules and their interactions. Volume 2 “Methods” covers instrumentation, fundamental theory and experimental methods. Volume 3 “Applications” covers specific topics of current interest and intensive research.
Handbook of Liquid Crystals
Call Number: QD923 .H37 1998 (Science Reference)
Volume 1 of this set provides an “overview of the fundamentals of the science and applications of the entire field of liquid crystals.” Volumes 2A and 2B focus on low molecular weight liquid crystals and volume 3 covers polymeric and amphiphilic liquid crystals and natural polymers with liquid crystalline properties.

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
Call Number: QD65 .H3 (Science Reserve)
Provides the latest and most accurate ready-reference information for the chemical and physical sciences. Includes basic constants, units and conversion factors, data on the physical constants of organic and inorganic compounds, fluid properties, properties of solids and much more. A general index facilitates access to required data.
Instrumentation Reference Book
Call Number: QC53 .I574 2003 (Science Reference)
This reference covers instrumentation for mechanical measurements, measurement of temperature and chemical composition, and electrical and radiation measurements.
AIP Physics Desk Reference
Call Number: QC61 .P49 2003 (Science Reference)
Arranged for quick and easy location of formulas, tables and other materials that physicists most need to have readily available.
The Physics Handbook: Fundamentals and Key Equations
Call Number: QC61 .P65 2007 (Science Reference)
This handbook is a compendium of fundamental concepts and key equations in physics, as well as a summary of the basic subject matter that a physicist learns during the first two years of a doctoral program.
Encyclopaedia of Scientific Units, Weights and Measures: Their SI Equivalences and Origins
Call Number: QC94 .C295 2003 (Science Reference)
his handbook contains more than 20,000 precise conversion factors and about 5,000 definitions of the units themselves. The units included are grouped into imperial and U.S. units, metric units, older or out-of-date units, ancient units and SI units.
CRC Handbook of Thermophysical and Thermochemical Data
Call Number: QC173.397 .L53 1994 (Science Reference)
Gives an overview of the most important thermodynamic, and related transport, properties for a range of pure substances and mixtures.
Springer Handbook of Condensed Matter and Materials Data
Call Number: QC173 .454 .S67 2005 (Science Reference)
This handbook combines introductory texts with selected data and functional relationships from solid state physics and materials.
Handbook of Temperature Measurement
Call Number: QC271 .H276 1998 (Science Reference)
This 3-volume handbook provides an understanding of appropriate techniques and instrumentation as well as the underlying principles of measurement and sensor design.
Handbook of Optics
Call Number: QC369 .H35 1995 (Science Reference)
A two-volume handbook which provides articles pertaining to both fundamental and applied problems on a broad assortment of topics in optics.
Handbook of Optical Materials
Call Number: QC374 .W43 2003 (Science Reference)
This handbook is a compilation of the physical properties of optical materials used in optical systems and lasers, grouped by material properties.
Handbook of Liquid Crystal Research
Call Number: QD923 .H36 1997 (Science Reference)
This book contains 15 chapters about the most important scientific and technological advances in liquid crystals during the first 25 years of research in the field.
Handbook of Modern Sensors: Physics, Designs and Applications
Call Number: TA165 .F723 2004 (Science Reference)
This book covers numerous modern sensors and detectors, examining the basic principles which form the foundation for their operation. The information provided will allow the reader to choose alternative methods of design.
The Electronics Handbook
Call Number: TK7867 .E4244 2005 (Science Reference)
This publication provides a comprehensive reference for engineers and technicians involved in the design, production, installation, operation and maintenance of electronic devices and systems ranging from classical devices and circuits to emerging technologies and applications.
Power Electronics Handbook
Call Number: TK7881.15 .P6733 2007 (Science Reference)
This handbook covers a wide range of topics, including switching devices, converter circuit topologies, control techniques and analytical methods as well as solar power conversion, wind turbine applications, artificial neural network applications and more.

Knovel Critical Tables
This searchable, interactive electronic handbook contains tables of physical, solvent and thermodynamic properties of inorganic and organic compounds. Take a few moments to view the useful instructional tutorial.
Smithsonian Physical Tables
This searchable electronic handbook contains more than 900 tables in PDF format with data of general interest to scientists and engineers, particularly physicists.
International Critical Tables of Numerical Data, Physics, Chemistry and Technology
Originally published in seven volumes, this classic reference contains critical data on inorganic and organic compounds as well as pure substances. Take a few moments to view the useful instructional tutorial.

McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms
Call Number: Q123 .M15 2003 (Science Reference)
This dictionary is intended for the scientific and engineering specialist as well as for the nonspecialist needing a comprehensive yet accessible resource for scientific terminology.

Oxford Dictionary of Physics
eBook - Click to Connect
Contains more than 3500 entries covering the terminology of physics. Includes terms from astronomy relevant to astrophysics, and relevant terms from mathematics and physical chemistry.

A Dictionary of Weights, Measures and Units
Call Number: QC82 .F428 2002 (Science Reference)
Dictionary of Material Science and High Energy Physics
Call Number: QC772 .D57 2001 (Science Reference)
Provides concise definitions for terms used in condensed matter, fluid dynamics, material science, nuclear physics, quantum mechanics, quantum optics, plasma physics and thermodynamics.