Classical Studies: General Classics Databases

TLG Digital Library contains virtually all Greek texts surviving from the period between Homer (8th century B.C.) and A.D. 600 and the majority of surviving works up to the fall of Byzantium in A.D. 1453. The TLG Project center continues its efforts to include all extant Greek texts from the Byzantine and post-Byzantine period. The Online TLG currently provides access to 3,800 authors and 12,000 works, and approximately 99 million words. It is updated quarterly.

The task of the institute is to produce the first comprehensive scholarly dictionary of ancient Latin from the earliest times down to AD 600. The work is based on an archive of about 10 million slips which takes account of all surviving texts. In the older texts there is a slip for each occurrence of each word; the later ones are generally covered by a selection of lexicographically relevant examples. Nowadays this material is supplemented, where appropriate, by the use of modern data-banks. The dictionary articles result from a critical inspection and interpretation of this material. They allow the user to follow the development of meaning and usage in each word. Publication is in separate fascicules; during 2009 it will reach the end of the letter P, at which point more than two thirds of the complete work will have appeared in the printed version and also (on the initiative of the publishers) in electronic form.

English edition of the authoritative Der Neue Pauly, published by Verlag J.B. Metzler since 1996. Encyclopaedic coverage for the ancient world.

The Loeb Classical Library, founded by James Loeb in 1911, has always been to make Greek and Latin literature accessible to the broadest range of readers.

Indexes articles from over 1,500 periodicals in the area of classical studies. Includes vols. 20-75 (1949-present).

TLG Digital Library contains virtually all Greek texts surviving from the period between Homer (8th century B.C.) and A.D. 600 and the majority of surviving works up to the fall of Byzantium in A.D. 1453. The TLG Project center continues its efforts to include all extant Greek texts from the Byzantine and post-Byzantine period. The Online TLG currently provides access to 3,800 authors and 12,000 works, and approximately 99 million words. It is updated quarterly.

L'Année Philologique contains citations to all known scholarly work on classical antiquity published in any language, anywhere in the world. Its subjects are Greek and Latin literature and linguistics, including early Christian texts and patristics, Greek and Roman history, philosophy, art, archaeology, religion, mythology, music, science and scholarly sub-specialties such as numismatics, papyrology and epigraphy. Its coverage begins in the second millennium B. C. E. with pre-classical archaeology, and ends with the period of transition from late antiquity to the middle ages (roughly 500-800 C.E.), extending from the physical centers of ancient Greece and Rome to Northern and Eastern Europe, Asia Minor, the Middle East, and North Africa.