LibGuides: Classical Studies: Internet Resources

General Online Classics Resources

Perseus Digital Library (Tufts University)
This is a digital library of full text resources and digital objects. Beginning with a focus upon the Greco-Roman world and upon classical Greek and Latin, the Perseus project has been expanding to include the Mediterranean world and classical Arabic. Their goal is to "...make the full record for humanity as intellectually accessible as possible to every human being."
Classical Latin Texts (The Packard Humanities Institute)
According to the web site, it "...contains essentially all Latin literary texts written before A.D. 200, as well as some texts selected from later antiquity.
The Classics Page
Collection of texts of Latin authors, Many were originally scanned and formatted from texts in the Public Domain.
The Internet Classics Archive (Daniel C. Stevenson, Web Atomics)
Collection of the texts of some Classical Authors.
Project Libellus (University of Washington)
Greek and Latin "fairly good-quality" texts made freely accessible.
Electronic Resources for Classicists: The Second Generation (Univ. of California, Irvine)
Large collection of general Classical resources across the Internet.
Ancient World Open Bibliographies
An open access Zotero Library started by librarians to share bibliographies on the ancient/classical worlds.
Encyclopedia of the Hellenic World
Comprehensive, quick reference online encyclopedia, complete with an interactive atlas, that offers English, Greek, and French language access.
TOCS-IN:Tables of Contents of Journals of Interest to Classicists
Free access, searchable table of contents of journals and books of collected essays.
more...less...
TOCS-IN is an entirely volunteer project, started in 1992 on the original idea of R. Morstein-Marx (Santa Barbara, California), and currently managed by PMW Matheson (Toronto, Canada) and Jacques Poucet (Louvain, Belgium). It makes available -- for searching, browsing, or downloading -- the tables of contents of about 185 journals of interest to classicists. The main information file ... gives:

- the date of the last general update (file reorganization)
- the date when new articles were last added
- a list of the journals and issues covered

There are now over 80 volunteers from 16 countries who supply TOCS-IN with the tables of contents in the archive.
GNOMON Online: The Eichstätt Information System for Classical Studies
An online, searchable bibliography of scholarly new publications in the areas of Classical Philology, Ancient History, and Archaeology. It includes resources not found in L'Annee Philologique. The site is in German, but there is an English translation option.

Blogs

Near Eastern Studies

ABZU (ETANA: Electronic Tools and Ancient Near East Archives)
This is a searchable ... "guide to networked open access data relevant to the study and public presentation of the Ancient Near East and the Ancient Mediterranean world." quoted from the web site
The Archaeological Exploration of Sardis Digital Resource Center
Project website for the Sardis archaeological expedition, discussing the site in Western Turkey from Bronze Age to Islamic times. Reports of their findings and monographs on the digs are available as free PDFs.
Institute for the Study of Ancient Cultures (University of Chicago)
Focuses on art, archaeology, philology, and history from West Asia (the Middle East), and North Africa (formerly known as the Oriental Institute; name changed in April of 2023).
Parthian Sources Online
A digital collection of texts from the Parthian Empire (247 BCE- 224 CE).
Sasanika
An online database for resources related to the Sasanian Empire. Last updated in 2019.

Focused Area Internet Sites

Didaskalia:The Journal for Ancient Performance
An electronic journal dedicated to the study of all aspects of ancient Greek and Roman performance.
Facsimiles of Herculaneum Papyri (Oxford)
High quality facsimiles and scans of the Herculaneum Papyri.
Medicina Antiqua (Wellcome Trust Centre for the History of Medicine at UCL)
Resources and links related to the study of ancient medicine.
Oxyrhynchus Papyri Collection (Oxford)
Portal to Oxford's Oxyrhynchus Papyri Collection, where you can access high resolutions scans of these papyri, as well as supporting information and transcriptions.
Papyri.info
Comprehensive database for transcribed papyri fragments. You can search here by specific fragment or by author.
Pharos
Pharos is a website where classical scholars, students, and the public more broadly, can learn about appropriations of Greco-Roman antiquity by hate groups.
"Children and Women in the Ancient Mediterranean World: An Extended Bibliography (1800-2022)"
A massive collection of citations, compiled by Yiannis Panidis, listing sources related to lives of women and children in the Ancient Mediterranean. As this document is over 1000 pages, it is best used by searching through it for keywords relevant to your research interests.

Regional Classics Resources

The Center for Epigraphical and Palaeographical Studies (The Ohio State University)
"...the only comprehensive research facility for the study of Greek and Latin inscriptions and manuscripts in the United States. Its purpose is to foster the study of inscriptions and manuscripts and promote research opportunities for those interested in these primary sources of information for the ancient and mediaeval world."
Cleveland Museum of Art
The Cleveland Museum of Art has free galleries featuring art from all over the world, including collections of ancient and artifacts from Egypt, the Middle East, Greece, Rome, China, India, and Southeast Asia. All collection images are free to use.
John Miller Burnam Classics Library (University of Cincinnati)
"The John Miller Burnam Classics Library at the University of Cincinnati possesses one of the world's largest (almost 300,000 print volumes and a few thousand ebooks and ejournals) and most distinguished collections of Classical Studies with particular strengths in Greek and Latin philology, Aegean Bronze Age archaeology, and Latin palaeography. "
Kelsey Museum of Archaeology (University of Michigan)
The Kelsey Museum of Archaeology supports teaching and research on Classical, Egyptian, and Middle Eastern archaeology and has a collection of over 150,000 objects.

Wooster Groups and Resources

Eta Sigma Phi
Alpha Upsilon Chapter of the national honorary society for Classics.
Pella @ Wooster
Collection of artifacts housed at the College of Wooster Art Museum from Pella, Jordan.