Mathematics Subject Guide

This is a dictionary of algorithms, algorithmic techniques, data structures, archetypical problems and related definitions hosted by the NIST. Entries are listed by area (e.g., combinatorics, cryptography and compression, graphs, etc.) and by type (e.g., classic problems, algorithms, data structures, etc.), and some have links to implementation and further information.

This portal takes you to many different types of mathematics sites. It is easy to search for specific subjects, topics, and type of resource.

This site indexes more than 1500 biographies of mathematicians from ancient times to the present. The biographies, which are one to two pages in length, were written by two professors in the School of Mathematics and Statistics at the University of St. Andrews. Entries contain references, links to other information and sometimes photographs of subjects.

This electronic encyclopedia of mathematics contains interactive elements such as animated graphics and hyperlinked terms which link to definitions. It contains references at the end of each description, many of which link to related web sites or to Amazon.com records for cited books. This site is hosted and sponsored by Wolfram Research, Inc., the creators of Mathematica.

This searchable database contains more than 83,000 number sequences. Typical entries include an ID number, the beginning sequence, sequence name or description, relevant literature, references, formulas or generating functions, and programming in Maple and Mathematica.

This resource is a compilation of elementary and special functions that are significant in mathematics, natural sciences and engineering.

This site, created and maintained by students of mathematics at Agnes Scott College, contains more that 100 biographies of famous women mathematicians. Entries are listed alphabetically or chronologically and include references to further information and a portrait of the subject.