Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What if I need more help?
What if you need more help? I'm here for you. I typically am available Monday-Friday 8AM-5PM but can make exceptions based on circumstances. Please feel free to contact me by email: firstname.lastname@example.org, filling out the Research Consultation Request Form, or stopping by my office, 158A Andrews Library.
Finding materials you have a citation for...
So you found a citation to an article or book that you found or your professor gave you, now what?
- Try searching by the title, author, or ISBN number of a book in the CONSORT Catalog. If you're not finding what you're looking for in CONSORT, try the OhioLink Catalog.
- Search for the title of the publication in the Journal Finder to see if we have access to that journal. More help with Journal Finder see this tutorial.
- Books or articles not available to borrow or access, request them through the ILL portal.
What is this guide?
This guide is here to help you get started with finding scholarly resources for your research paper. This guide includes information about key time periods with their associated sites and important citations. Look at the subtabs under the "Key Periods, Sites, and Citations" tab for this information organized by time period. The resources listed are just to get you started, if you don't find everything you need here- that's okay! This list is not meant to be exhaustive. The rest of the guide will give you some advice on different databases to look in for more resources, as well as how to search in them, and how to cite things once you've found them
Places to Search
This guide provides lots of starting points for you research, but where can you go to find more? Your librarian recommendations:
AnthroSource (AAA) This link opens in a new window
AnthroSource provides access to 15 peer-reviewed journals published by the American Anthropological Association (AAA). Additionally it provides access to the archives of all journals published by the AAA.
Anthropology Plus (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
A compilation of Anthropological Index (Royal Anthropological Institute) and Anthropological Literature (Harvard University), this database is the world’s most comprehensive index covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research. It provides extensive indexing of journal articles, reports, and commentaries from the early 19th century to present.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Publication Dates: 1887 to present. A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, including more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, and more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Provides indexing for more than 12,500 journals and more than 13,200 publications, including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.
Abstracts in Anthropology (Sage) This link opens in a new window
Publication Dates: 2001 to present. A comprehensive, international abstract database covering a broad spectrum of significant, current scholarship in Cultural Anthropology, Physical Anthropology, Archaeology, and Linguistics .
JSTOR (ITHAKA) This link opens in a new window
JSTOR includes scholarship published in more than 1,500 of the highest-quality academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The content represents archives of the journal titles back to volume 1 but not including the most recent 3-5 years.
You may have used Google Scholar before, great! Google Scholar is a Google search focused on academic literature. As with any search engine, be sure to evaluate the sources you find. Not all results from Google Scholar are scholarly or authoritative. Don't only search in google scholar though; you have access to resources in library databases that you won't find here!
Learner Experience Librarian